Updated on January 3, 2019. Medical content reviewed by Dr. Richard Koffler, MD, Board Certified Physiatrist
In New Hampshire, marijuana is classified as a Schedule I substance. Being caught in possession of any amount can result in up to one year of jail time and a maximum of $2,000 in fines. Sale or distribution of more than five pounds can lead to a 40-year jail sentence.
Possession of any amount of marijuana is subject to a maximum of one year in prison and up to a $2,000 fine. Anyone between 15 to 18 years of age who is convicted of possession may receive a suspension of their driver’s license for 90 days up to one year.
Possession of 5g or less of hash and concentrates is a misdemeanor that attracts up to one-year imprisonment and a maximum of $20,000 in fines. Holding more than 5g is punishable by a one-year prison term a $5,000 fine.
Possession with intent to sell or distribute less than one ounce of marijuana is punishable by a maximum three years in prison and up to $25,000 in fines. Possession with intent to sell or distribute one ounce or more is punishable by up to seven years in jail and a maximum of $100,000 in fines.
Possession with intent to sell or distribute five pounds or more is punishable by up to 20 years’ imprisonment and a $300,000 fine. Possession with intent to sell or distribute within 1,000 feet of a learning institution attracts up to two times the possible prison time and fines as per the amounts involved.
Anyone between 15 to 18 years of age who is convicted of possession with intent to sell or distribute may have their driver’s license suspended for 90 days to one year. Individuals over the age of 18 years caught in possession of marijuana with intent to sell or distribute may receive a suspension of their driver’s license for life.
Possession or sale of paraphernalia is punishable by up to one year in prison and up to $20,000 in fines.
Cultivation of less than one ounce of marijuana is a felony punishable by up to three years’ imprisonment and a max of $25,000 in fines. Growing one ounce or more is a felony subject to seven years in prison and up to a $100,000 fine. Cultivation of five pounds or more warrants 20 years in prison and a maximum $300,000 fine.
The state of New Hampshire has legalized marijuana programs, allowing qualifying patients to apply for state-issued medical marijuana ID cards and receive a medical marijuana prescription from qualified physicians. Patients can, therefore, purchase medical marijuana from approved dispensaries.
We have a conventional search system that helps you locate qualified marijuana doctors in New Hampshire. All of our doctors are licensed to diagnose and certify you to use medical marijuana to treat your condition.
Just type in your city or your zip code into the search bar. The system will give you a list of qualified doctors within your area. You can also interact with the doctor of your choice and book an appointment with them.