Due to growing awareness of the many therapeutic properties of cannabis, Florida passed the 2014 Compassionate Medical Cannabis Act, legally authorizing an exclusive group of patients to use low-THC cannabis for medicinal purposes, starting in January 2015. Since then, Florida’s medical marijuana laws have expanded to include additional health conditions and marijuana products with higher potency amounts.
Medical marijuana enables qualified patients to regain their health and vitality by medicating with various medical cannabis products that work best for their situations. To become qualified to procure cannabis products from state-licensed cannabis treatment centers, patients must have a valid medical marijuana card.
In the state of Florida, adults who plan to use cannabis medicinally must be at least 18 years old to apply to the Medical Marijuana Use Registry (MMUR). Minors under the age of 18 can also become patients, but they must have a parent or legal guardian as their caregiver who’s at least 21 years old.
The sunshine state allows both seasonal and permanent residents to purchase and use cannabis medicinally as long as they have one of the following qualifying conditions:
Many health ailments cause symptoms similar to those in the above conditions. Residents of Florida may qualify for medical marijuana patient status if a physician diagnoses them with a comparable medical disorder or terminal condition.
Applicants must see a qualified medical provider for documentation of their official diagnosis. Certifications are valid for 210 days or seven months. Self-certifications are prohibited. Florida is one of several states that requires cannabis patients to visit an approved marijuana physician to complete their evaluations every seven months.
Currently, the processing fee for medical marijuana cards in Florida is $75. The price is valid for applications submitted online through Florida’s Office of Medical Marijuana Use Registry Website (MMUR). There are additional expenses that new and renewing patients should keep in mind.
Applications are not complete without medical documentation. Patients must see their physicians for a referral for medical cannabis. An additional evaluation is necessary with an approved medical marijuana provider.
Many medical patients have health insurance to help absorb the cost of seeing a primary or general practitioner for a diagnosis. However, insurance does not cover the cost of medical marijuana doctor appointments. The price of marijuana card evaluations varies per qualified physician. Florida state law requires patients to see two approved medical marijuana doctors for certification. The average cost of a medical marijuana evaluation is between $100 to $400. Application and evaluation fees apply to renewal patients as well.
Laws regarding medical marijuana treatment in Florida often change, leaving many patients unaware of the impact on their ability to quickly or conveniently access the cannabis they need to maintain their health.
To become a valid medical cannabis patient in Florida, residents must have ailments that cause symptoms similar to any of the conditions approved by the state’s Department of Health and Medical Marijuana Use Registry board.
Potential patients should also be of age. Though medical marijuana is typically reserved for adults over 18 with certain medical conditions, some minors qualify for access with a parent or guardian who meets eligibility requirements and is approved for a caregiver license.
Patients must also submit proof of residence and medical records with their applications. To apply, patients can either visit the state’s website to view and print the application to complete before sending it and all pertinent supporting documentation by mail or go online. The fastest way to get a medical card for cannabis in Florida is to use the Marijuana Doctors website, an online medical marijuana recommendation and evaluation network.
Patients can schedule and complete evaluations and applications on the same day. The processing time for applications is typically 10 business days. Application fees are processed within five days. Then it takes an additional five days for the state to review applicants and issue a decision. The state does not accept or review applications until after payments are posted.
Florida is home to 432 licensed marijuana treatment centers, so there’s no shortage of licensed dispensaries for patients to visit for the cannabis they need to manage their health concerns. Patients and caregivers can shop for cannabis products in any of the following consumption forms:
To find the closest location nearest them or visit medical marijuana treatment facilities across the state, simply use our interactive Florida marijuana dispensary locator.
With 2,135 actively licensed cannabis physicians throughout the state, finding an affordable yet trustworthy medical provider for health evaluations and certifications may seem time-intensive.
Fortunately, Marijuana Doctors does all the vetting for patients so they can quickly find and see a qualified marijuana doctor. For the nearest MMJ-friendly doctor nearest you, or to find a particular physician, click the link to use our Find a Doctor Locator for marijuana physicians in Florida.
Getting a medical marijuana card is a pretty straightforward process. However, Florida laws are constantly changing. It’s not unusual for many first-time and long-time patients to have additional concerns about medical marijuana and low-THC cannabis patient access. Below are some common questions and answers for patients to use for reference throughout their medical marijuana journey.
Florida medical marijuana cards are valid for 12 months from the date of approval. To retain the right to legally procure and use cannabis medicinally for their ailments, patients must renew their marijuana health evaluations every seven months and medical cards every year. Additional considerations for patients include short-term certification (valid for 70 days) for two refills and a 35-day certification for smokable cannabis patients.
Patients and caregivers with medical marijuana licenses can go to any state-approved marijuana treatment center to purchase cannabis for medicinal purposes. Dispensaries carry a wide variety of the following types of medical marijuana and low-THC cannabis products for Florida patients:
Caregivers are only allowed to purchase marijuana products for their patients. Personal access is prohibited.
As of April 2022, there is a 35-day rolling cap on medical marijuana and low-THC cannabis purchases. Patients and caregivers can purchase up to 2.5 ounces of smokable flower within a 35-day period. Patients who do not smoke marijuana can purchase up to a 70-day supply of non-smokable cannabis products.
Daily dosage is determined by the patient’s certifying physician and applies to acceptable forms of marijuana. Once a physician informs the OMMU, the state calculates the amount of cannabis necessary for the patient’s 70-day supply. Regardless of the consumption form, the 70-day cap is 4 ounces. Anything over is subject to license forfeiture and legal consequences.
Most patients receive their physical cards within 4-6 weeks. Approved patients do not have to wait until they receive their physical cards to start going to local treatment centers. Digital copies of approvals are sent via email and accepted at many dispensaries and medical cannabis treatment facilities across the state.
The state notifies patients by email when their medical cannabis licenses or cards are close to their expiration date which is 12 months from date of approval. Patients should complete the renewal process at least 45 days ahead of time to avoid potential delays in processing and prevent interruptions in their medicinal cannabis treatment regimens.
Failure to renew certifications or medical card licenses on time can result in higher application costs, lost medical cannabis privileges, and dispensary access.
Patients who misplace or have their cards stolen are not authorized to purchase medicinal cannabis products from any state-licensed medical marijuana treatment center. To replace lost or stolen medical marijuana cards, patients must complete a change, replacement, or surrender form on the OMMU website. The fee for replacing missing or stolen medical marijuana treatment cards is $15.
Marijuana Doctors’ is on a mission to be a one-stop resource for the cannabis community. We work with professional and compassionate marijuana-approved physicians to ensure patients get the information, recommendations, and professional guidance they need for medical marijuana cards and therapeutics to improve their lives with cannabis.
Medical cannabis patients have more control over their conditions and care plans with the continuous guidance and support of approved, board-certified, and licensed medical marijuana physicians all over the state and country. Anyone with a qualifying condition or who experiences symptoms that impair their daily bodily functions or ability to enjoy life can find relief with medical cannabis. Take the first step to learn how medical cannabis can improve your quality of life by getting a formal diagnosis.
Marijuana Doctors is here to help put potential and current patients in touch with approved marijuana physicians for evaluations and complete the recommendation process to get their medical marijuana cards and start their healing transformation with cannabis today.