Select a city to narrow your Marijuana Doctors search results.
In 2008, voters in Michigan approved the Michigan Medical Marijuana Initiative known as Proposal 1. This measure allows for the use of medicinal marijuana for patients with qualifying medical ailments. Some of these conditions include ALS, Cancer, epilepsy, Cachexia, glaucoma, hepatitis C, Nail-Patella Syndrome, nausea, HIV, AIDS, Multiple Sclerosis, Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD) and chronic pain.
Later in 2013, voters established Senate Bill 660 to revise the Public Health Code to agree that cannabis, including the pharmaceutical classified marijuana, would be a schedule II controlled substance if grown, produced, acquired or dispensed in compliance with the Public Health Code. It was passed, and the growing of cannabis was also approved for registered individuals who use secured facilities, contributing to the rise of legal Michigan marijuana dispensaries.
In December 2017, regulations for medical marijuana businesses were changed by regulations signed into effect by Governor Rick Snyder. Not only will marijuana businesses be responsible for demonstrating capital of $150k-$500k, but there are regulations on how that capital is outlined as acceptable to the state. Businesses in violation of these regulations could be fined more than $10,000.
The state also issued rules governing the marketing of medical marijuana businesses in December 2017. These rules included restrictions like:
Michigan’s health department created a registry of all qualified medical cannabis patients. To date, there are approximately 211,000 qualified patients in the Michigan Medical Marijuana Program. Participation in this program limits possession of usable marijuana to two and one-half ounces per patient at any given time.
Under a set of new laws passed on December 20, 2016, regulators were required to establish rules that govern the licensing of Michigan marijuana dispensary operators. The Wolverine State has many licensed medical cannabis dispensaries, compassion centers and delivery services where patients can easily get access to the services they need.
A caregiver is someone who agrees to help a patient with his or her medical consumption of marijuana. The primary caregiver must be 21 years of age or older and must never have been convicted of a felony that involves illegal drugs. A patient is only allowed to have a single primary caregiver, whereas the caregiver can only assist fewer than five qualified patients with their use of medical marijuana.
Also, a qualified caregiver in Michigan state must have a record completely void of lawbreaking within the past ten years, or any form of violent felony ever.
Like many states, Michigan’s medical marijuana laws can seem daunting to the average patient. MarijuanaDoctors.com is here to help you navigate this process at every step and to ensure you get the medicine you need.
We offer the following benefits to patients:
Connecting patients with Michigan medical marijuana dispensaries and doctors has never been easier. Browse through our directory and get connected today!