Updated on January 3, 2019. Medical content reviewed by Dr. Richard Koffler, MD, Board Certified Physiatrist
Marijuana is listed as a Schedule I substance in Minnesota. Possession of 42.5g or less is a crime punishable by a maximum fine of $200. Here is an overview of medical marijuana penalties in Minnesota for possession, sale and cultivation.
Possession of marijuana that is less 42.5g is a petty misdemeanor and attracts a maximum fine of $200. A conditional discharge or drug education course is possible for first-time offenders. Holding more than 42.5g but less than 10kg is punishable by a maximum of five years of imprisonment and up to a $10,000 fine.
Possessing more than 10kg but less than 50kg is punishable by a maximum of 20 years in jail and up to a $250,000 fine. Holding more than 50kg but less than 100kg is punishable by a maximum of 25 years in jail and up to $500,000 in fine.
Possession of more than 100kg is a crime that attracts up to 30 years in prison and a maximum $1,000,000 fine
Selling less than 42.5g of marijuana without remuneration is a petty misdemeanor, and the punishment is a fine of $200. Distributing 42.5g to 5kg is subject to a maximum of five years in prison and up to a $10,000 fine. Selling between 5kg to 25kg is subject to up to 20 years in prison a maximum fine of $250,000.
Someone who sells between 25kg to 50kg is subject to up to 25 years in jail and a maximum fine of $500,000. Selling more than 50kg is a crime that attracts a 30-year prison term and a maximum fine of $1,000,000.
Home cultivation of marijuana in Minnesota is prohibited. Growing less than 42.5g is a misdemeanor and warrants a maximum fine of $200. Cultivating more than 42.5g but less than 10kg is punishable by a maximum of five years in jail and up to a $10,000 fine.
Cultivation of more than 10kg but less than 50kg will be punished by a maximum of 20 years in jail and up to a $250,000 fine.
Growing more than 50kg but less than 100kg is subject to a maximum of 25 years in prison and up to a $500,000 fine. Cultivation of more than 100kg attracts up to 30 years in jail and a maximum $1,000,000 fine.
The state has classified marijuana as a Schedule I drug. Therefore, doctors cannot prescribe marijuana to their patients, and patients cannot fill their prescriptions in a pharmacy.
Instead, qualified physicians can only give their patients a medical marijuana recommendation as per the law. According to Minnesota laws, there are two licensed manufacturers who are allowed to produce all medical cannabis within Minnesota. All patients are given a 20-day supply of their prescribed dosage.
We have put up an efficient search system to help you locate qualified marijuana doctors in Minnesota. With a network of thousands of qualified cannabis doctors, our system makes it easy to find the right physician who can write a recommendation for you.
Use our online search system to find a professionally qualified marijuana doctor in Minnesota to write a recommendation letter for you today. Just type in your zip code or your city and schedule an appointment with a doctor of your choice.