Updated on January 25, 2019. Medical content reviewed by Dr. Richard Koffler, MD, Board Certified Physiatrist
Patients in Arizona diagnosed with one of the following severe, debilitating, or life-threatening medical conditions, are afforded legal protection under the Arizona Medical Marijuana law, as per Ballot Proposition 203 “Arizona Medical Marijuana Act”:
Or, a chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or its treatment that produces one or more of the following:
Or any other medical condition or its treatment added by the department pursuant to section 36-2801.01.
On November 02, 2010, Arizona Proposition 203 AKA the “Arizona Medical Marijuana Act” was approved by 50.13% of voters. Proposition 203 removed all state-level criminal penalties on the use and possession of medical marijuana (also referred to as medical weed, medical pot or medical cannabis) by qualifying patients, who obtain a recommendation from an Arizona licensed physician and register with the Arizona Department of Health Services (ADHS).
The law requires the ADHS to establish a registration and renewal application system for patients and nonprofit dispensaries, as well as a web-based verification system for law enforcement and dispensaries, to verify registry identification cards. Patients may legally use and possess up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana, in a 14-day period. However, if a patient lives more than 25 miles from the nearest dispensary, the patient/caregiver may cultivate up to 12 cannabis plants in a securely enclosed facility.
Some medical marijuana patients will claim they have a doctor’s prescription for medical marijuana, but marijuana prescriptions are in fact illegal. The federal government classifies marijuana as a schedule I drug. Therefore doctors are unable to prescribe marijuana to their patients, and medical marijuana patients cannot go to a pharmacy to fill a prescription for medical marijuana. Instead, medical marijuana doctors in Arizona will supply patients with a medical marijuana recommendation in compliance with state law.
According to Arizona medical marijuana laws, qualified patients or their registered designated caregivers may obtain up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana in a 14-day period, from a registered nonprofit medical marijuana dispensary. If the patient lives more than 25 miles from the nearest dispensary, the patient or caregiver may cultivate no more than 12 marijuana plants in an enclosed, locked facility.
* Please note: Before filling out an application, please consider whether or not you will need a caregiver, as you may want to request to cultivate or designate a caregiver, during the application process. If you choose to designate a caregiver for this purpose, you as the patient may NOT also cultivate. Once you have designated a caregiver, the caregiver application process MUST also be completed. Please take special note of any caregiver-specific, application instructions.
Please go to our section on obtaining a medical marijuana card in Arizona for more information if you are interested in learning more about becoming a medical cannabis patient.