Updated on January 3, 2019. Medical content reviewed by Dr. Richard Koffler, MD, Board Certified Physiatrist
Maine was one of the first states to enact a medical marijuana law. So, registered medical marijuana users are free to use a maximum of 2.5 ounces to treat qualifying conditions. Such patients may also cultivate a maximum of six plants at home, and caregivers are permitted to cultivate and hold medical marijuana for their patients.
However, marijuana is still regarded as a Schedule Z substance. Possession of a small amount of marijuana for personal use is allowed, but using it in public is a civil infraction. Here are the penalties that apply to marijuana possession, use, distribution and cultivation in Maine.
Holding up to 1.25 ounces of marijuana is a civil violation. It is punishable by a fine ranging from $350 to $600. If more than 1.25 but less than 2.5 ounces is found on a person, it is punishable by a fine of $700 to $1,000. Subsequent offenses will attract a six-month jail term and a fine of $550.
If the amount of marijuana found on a person is between 2.5 and eight ounces, it is punishable by six months in jail and a fine of $1,000. If the quantity is between eight and 16 ounces, the offense is punishable by 12 months of imprisonment and a fine of $2,000.
Holding anywhere between one to 20 pounds of marijuana attracts a jail term of five years and a fine not exceeding $5,000. A fine of $20,000 and a jail term of 10 years applies to someone convicted of possessing more than 20 pounds of marijuana.
Selling a pound or less of marijuana attracts a one-year jail term and a fine of $2,000. More than one pound but less than 20 pounds has a penalty of five years in prison and a fine of $5,000.
The sale of 20 pounds of marijuana attracts a jail term of 10 years and a fine of $20,000. Selling marijuana to a minor or within 1,000 feet from a school is punishable by five years of imprisonment and a $5,000 fine.
Growing more than six but less than 99 plants is punishable by a fine of $2,000 and 12 months in jail. For cultivating between 100 and 499 plants, the offender is subject to five years of imprisonment and a fine of $5,000. Growing 500 or more marijuana plants is punishable by a ten-year prison term and a fine that does not exceed $20,000.
To use medical marijuana in Maine without being penalized for possession, you need to be examined and certified by a licensed physician. We have a network of competent and committed doctors who are ready to help you get certified to use medical marijuana. You can locate the best marijuana doctors in Maine through our efficient search system.
Search for doctors now by typing your zip code into the search box. You’ll find a list of doctors practicing in your city. Click on any of the doctors to see more details about their services including fees, operating hours and terms of service. You can also read reviews about their services from other patients. Then, use our fast online booking system to request an appointment today.