Michigan Medical Marijuana Program: Contact Details
Michigan Medical Marijuana Program
Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
Bureau of Professional Licensing
PO Box 30083
Lansing, MI 48909
Website: Michigan Medical Marijuana Program
Note from State, on sources for medical marijuana
“This is not addressed in the MMMA, therefore; the MMP is not authorized to provide information regarding this issue… The MMMA provides for a system of designated caregivers… The MMP is not authorized to associate patients and caregivers nor release the names of registered caregivers,” Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ) [Accessed April 24, 2014]
The Michigan Patient Registry fee is $60 for new and renewal applications. The Michigan Marijuana Registry is mandatory and does accept other state’s registry cards.
Recent Legislation Changes
2017 Election Update: New ordinances were passed on November 7th that will change medical marijuana laws in Detroit. These ordinances will loosen the zoning restrictions on the medical marijuana industry, which caused over 186 dispensaries to close in 2016. The ordinances passed on Election Day will remove restrictions for dispensaries in proximity to daycare centers, parks, arcades, and liquor stores. The ordinances will also lessen proximity to churches and other dispensary restrictions from 1,000ft to 500ft.
May 2018 Update: The state of Michigan added the following conditions to the list of those treatable with medical marijuana:
- Obsessive Compulsive Disorder
- Spinal Cord Injury
- Rheumatoid Arthritis
- Inflammatory Bowel Disease
- Ulcerative Colitis
- Parkinson’s Disease
- Tourette’s Syndrome
- Chronic Pain
Other conditions that were up for approval but were not recommended were depression, anxiety, schizophrenia, panic attacks, brain injury, social anxiety disorder, gastric ulcers, asthma, and diabetes.
Michigan Medical Marijuana Program: Information
The rules governing the Michigan medical marijuana program changed considerably in December 2016, when state leaders approved the addition of concentrated forms of cannabis, such as ointments, oils and tinctures. Patients may now possess not only the flowers and leaves of the plants but also extracts and resins. In addition, the new law established a regulatory structure involving not only cultivators and processors but also dispensaries, testing labs and more.
But the movement toward a sensible program regarding medical marijuana in Michigan has been ongoing for several years. On November 04, 2008, 63% of voters approved Proposal 1, “Michigan Medical Marihuana Act”, effective December 04, 2008, removing the state-level criminal penalties on the use, possession and cultivation of marijuana by patients possessing the medical recommendation from their physician, stating that he or she may benefit from the medical use of marijuana.
On December 31, 2012, House Bill 4856 amended the Michigan medical marijuana law, making it illegal to “transport or possess” usable marijuana by car unless it is “enclosed in a case that is carried in the trunk of the vehicle”. Violation of this law is a misdemeanor “punishable by imprisonment for not more than 93 days, or a fine of no more than $500.00, or both”.
On April 01, 2013, House Bill 4834 amended the law, requiring proof of Michigan residency when applying for a registry ID card — in either the form of a drivers license, official state ID, or valid voter registration, and make the card valid for 2 years instead of one; and House Bill 4851 amended the law, requiring a “bona fide physician-patient relationship”, requiring that the physician “maintains records of the patient’s condition in accord with medically accepted standards” and “will provide follow-up care”, and protects the patient from arrest with a registry identification card and valid photo ID.
On February 08, 2013, in the “State of Michigan vs. McQueen” the Michigan Supreme Court ruled 4-1, that dispensaries are illegal. Michigan medical marijuana patients are required to grow their own marijuana or appoint a cannabis caregiver — who is limited to caring for no more than five patients.
In Dec 2017, Governor Snyder put regulations into place that could significantly limit the amount of medical marijuana access in the state of Michigan. These regulations for medical marijuana businesses were released just a few weeks before the state began accepting medical marijuana license applications on Dec 15th. Regulations include being able to demonstrate capital ranging from $150k to $500k where 25% of that capital is liquid assets and businesses cannot use more that 150z of usable marijuana or 72 plants to meet this requirement. Businesses in violation of these regulations could incur a fine of $10,000 or their daily receipt gross, depending on which is greater.
Further, in December 2017, additional regulations were issued governing advertising and marketing regulations for medical marijuana-related businesses. The regulations also included rules for labeling, security measures, tracking identification, fire codes, and more.
Michigan Medical Marijuana Program: Possession and Cultivation Regulations
Michigan patients may legally possess up to two and one-half (2.5) ounces of usable medical marijuana; and twelve plants, to be kept in an enclosed, locked facility unless the patient appoints a caregiver to cultivate their marijuana.
The 2016 law resulted in major changes in the way cultivation is regulated in the Michigan marijuana program. It divided growers into three classes. Those in the Class A category are allowed to grow a maximum of 500 plants, while those in the Class B category can grow up to 1,000 plants. Growers in the Class C group are able to grow as many as 1,500 plants.
All medical cannabis products must be tested by state-approved “safety compliance facilities” before they can be made available to patients. These testing facilities not only examine products for potentially unsafe contaminants, but they also measure the amount of THC and cannabidiol (CBD) oil in those products.
Patients are still able to grow up to 12 plants at home, as long as they are kept in a secure area that’s enclosed as well as locked. Any plants being grown outdoors may not be “visible to the unaided eye” and can’t be accessible to the general public.
Though there are protections in place for patients in possession of medical marijuana, there are few protections in the state of Michigan for medical marijuana patients in the workplace. Michigan is an “at-will state,” meaning that employers can fire employees at any point for any reason, and the current legislation does not have protections in place for patients who have received an official medical marijuana program. Patients in the state of Michigan should navigate the legality of using medical marijuana while employed at their workplaces carefully.
Michigan Medical Marijuana Telemedicine Services Online
Qualified patients in Michigan may choose to see a marijuana doctor online instead of in-person, using the telemedicine portal, provided that a medical marijuana telemedicine doctor first establish a bonafide relationship with the patient in-person, after which all follow-up visits may be conducted via medical marijuana telemedicine services, online.