Updated on January 23, 2020. Medical content reviewed by Dr. Joseph Rosado, MD, M.B.A, Chief Medical Officer
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
Medical Marijuana Registry
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South
Denver, CO 80246
Phone: (303) 692-2184
If sending Confidential Information Please Use CDPHE’s Secure Email Portal
Website: Colorado Medical Marijuana Registry
As legislation in Colorado changes, check back to this section for how these legislation changes affect the medical and recreational marijuana programs in Colorado.
Note from State, on sources for medical marijuana
The Marijuana Enforcement Division (MED) website lists the licensed Medical Marijuana Centers (dispensary and caregiver retail operations), “from which Medical Marijuana Registry patients purchase Medical Marijuana and Medical Marijuana infused products.” The MED, “is responsible for the regulation of both the Medical and Retail Marijuana Industries, each of which have separate and distinct statute and rules under which they operate.”
“Medical Marijuana Licensing Information” [Accessed March 01, 2016]
“Licensing Information” [Accessed March 01, 2016]
The Colorado Patient Registry application fee is $15. The Colorado Marijuana Registry is mandatory.
The Colorado medical marijuana program was bolstered substantially in 2012 when voters approved a ballot initiative to legalize weed for recreational purposes. Now, anyone 21 years of age can possess a small amount of pot without fear of being arrested. Licensed businesses began selling legal weed in 2014, and the state has seen significant economic benefits since. Marijuana sales in the state were nearly $1 billion in 2015 alone.
But Coloradoans were committed to a common-sense approach to marijuana long before the legalization vote took place. For example, on November 07, 2000, 54% of voters approved Ballot Amendment 20, which removed state-level criminal penalties on the use, possession and cultivation of marijuana, by patients possessing a written recommendation from their certified physician advising that he or she may “benefit from the medical use of marijuana”.
Patients possessing this documentation may argue the “Affirmative defense of medical necessity”.
On June 07, 2010, Colorado Governor Bill Ritter signed House Bill 1284 and Senate Bill 109, into law:
“House Bill 1284 provides a regulatory framework for dispensaries, including giving local communities the ability to ban or place sensible and much-needed controls on the operation, location and ownership of these establishments.
Senate Bill 109 will help prevent fraud and abuse, ensuring that physicians who authorize medical marijuana for their patients actually perform a physical exam, do not have a DEA flag on their medical license and do not have a financial relationship with a dispensary.”
Added qualifying conditions: Autism Spectrum Disorder; any condition for which a physician could prescribe an opioid. (https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/cdphe/qualifying-medical-conditions-medical-marijuana-registry)
On Jan 1, 2020, MED Regulated Marijuana Rules went into effect.
A patient or a primary caregiver who has been issued a Medical Marijuana Registry identification card may possess no more than two ounces of a usable form of marijuana. A patient may not have more than six marijuana plants, with three or fewer being mature, flowering plants that are producing a usable form of marijuana. Patients who do not join the registry, or possess greater amounts of marijuana than allowed by law, may argue the “affirmative defense of medical necessity,” if arrested on marijuana charges.