Search
Marijuana Doctors
A New Kind Of Healthcare

Search

Cape Coral Medical Marijuana Doctors

Home / Find A Doctor / Florida Medical Marijuana Doctors / Cape Coral Medical Marijuana Doctors

Refine Results

Cities in Florida

Select a city to narrow your Marijuana Doctors search results.

Medical Marijuana Doctors in Cape Coral, FL

Are you on the hunt for a medical marijuana doctor in Cape Coral, Fla.? Here’s the scoop:

How Do Medical Marijuana Laws Work in Florida?

In Florida, recreational marijuana is still illegal, and medical marijuana is only legal for patients registered for the state’s MMJ program.

A lot of Florida’s medical marijuana laws changed when Amendment 2 of the Florida Constitution was passed in 2017. So, state leaders have been working on rolling out new regulations to make it easier for patients who need medical marijuana get the relief that they need. However, this means that some laws, like possession and growing limits, are still up in the air.

Also, getting medical marijuana differs from obtaining traditional medicine. You don’t get a prescription — instead, you get a recommendation that requires renewal every 45 days. With the recommendation, you can buy your medicine from a dispensary within the state carrying limit. Since the carrying limit hasn’t been officially determined yet, ask your doctor or budtender how much you can keep at a time.

How Do I Register?

Before you begin the registration process, check that you have a qualifying condition under state law, such as:

  • Anxiety
  • Muscle spasms
  • Lyme disease
  • Spasticity
  • Crohn’s disease
  • Parkinson’s disease
  • Inflammatory bowel disease
  • PTSD
  • Migraines
  • Anorexia
  • Any terminal condition

If you’re not sure, talk with your physician and look at official state laws. Make sure you’ve had your condition treated by the same doctor for three months and that you’ve tried other treatments.

Once you decide to sign up for MMJ, you can visit a qualified doctor to have an assessment done. Before your first appointment, make sure to:

  • Release your medical records to the physician’s office. The records must include a diagnosis of the illness you want to treat. If you use a record release form instead of taking the documents with you, check that they got them before you visit.
  • Take a state ID with you that confirms you as a Florida resident at least 18 years of age.
  • Bring along a parent or legal guardian if you’re under 18.

Once you get the green light from the doc, all you have to do is sign up on the state’s website and wait for your “green card” to come in the mail.

We have a dedicated page on information about signing up for a medical marijuana recommendation. And there’s always Florida’s state website.

What Does It Mean to Be a Certified Doctor?

Only MMJ-certified physicians can recommend MMJ for you. To find a state-endorsed doctor or make sure a doctor is legit, check out the official list of approved doctors. The state updates it every Friday, so don’t worry about expired licenses.

Florida Medical Cannabis Program Details For Patients