Search
Marijuana Doctors
A New Kind Of Healthcare
Search

Virginia Medical Marijuana

Updated on April 11, 2019.  Medical content reviewed by Dr. Joseph Rosado, MD, M.B.A, Chief Medical Officer

2019 Update: Virginia has formally passed House Bill 1251, allowing doctors to recommend both CBD and THC-A Oil for any condition that may benefit. Doctors who are registered with the Virginia Board of Pharmacy can now issue a written certification for a patient to possess CBD or THC-A oil pursuant to §18.2-250.1.

Medical Marijuana in Virginia

Medical marijuana in Virginia is no longer limited to an extremely small minority of seriously ill patients, but it is not what would commonly be referred to as a true medicinal cannabis program. Virginia now allows patients suffering from a condition, determined at the discretion of a doctor, to utilize Cannabidiol (CBD) or Tetrahydrocannabinolic Acid (THC-A) Oil. A patient may be recommended CBD or THC-A Oil if a physician believes a patient will benefit from it. People suffering from any condition that may benefit from medical marijuana treatment using CBD or THC-A Oil can now purchase and possess this medicine without fear of legal repercussions. The new laws provide an affirmative defense for a patient, parent or legal guardian to possess cannabidiol (CBD) oil or THC-A oil, as defined in §54.1-3408.3 of the Code of Virginia who has been issued a valid written certification from a Board of Pharmacy-registered physician and who maintains a current registration with the Board of Pharmacy.

Information About the Virginia Medical Marijuana Program:

  1. Patients must be issued a written certification by a Physician who is registered with and certified by Virginia’s Board of Pharmacy to recommend CBD or THC-A Oil.
    • The physician must maintain a current registration with the Board of Pharmacy.
  2. Patients must provide proof of identity using either a statue-issued identification card, an unexpired Driver’s License, or a valid Passport issued by the U.S. Government.
  3. Patients must be a resident of Virginia and will need to provide proof of residency.
  4. After receiving a recommendation from a Certified Physician, patients must then register with the Department of Health Professions.
    • The initial registration fee is $50 and the annual renewal fee is $50.
    • When registering as a minor patient, the legal parent or guardian of said minor must also be registered. Please click here for more information.
    • Detailed, step-by-step instructions on the registration process can be found
  5. Applications will be processed by the Board of Pharmacy within 7-10 business days. Once processed and issued, registration cards will be mailed to the address provided on the application.

Recent Legislation Changes

Please check back for updates to Virginia’s Medical Marijuana Program as they occur.

The State of Virginia has a legalized medical marijuana program which allows patients to receive a medical marijuana recommendation from a state-approved physician, apply for a Medical Marijuana Card issued by the Virginia Board of Pharmacy, permitting the patient to purchase CBD and THC-A Oil for medicinal use, as per Virginia state law.

Since the medical marijuana program in Virginia is still in its infancy, please be sure to visit our site frequently to get the most up-to-date laws that pertain to the Virginia medical marijuana program. Please click on a corresponding link below to find out more about Virginia’s Medical Marijuana Program. We take pride in providing a one-stop-shop for all the information patients will need to know about the laws and guidelines set forth by the Virginia Medical Marijuana Program.

Virginia Medical Marijuana Laws

Although Virginia now has legal medical marijuana, you still cannot possess cannabis or use it recreationally. Patients who are registered with Virginia’s Board of Pharmacy will have an affirmative defense, as defined in §54.1-3408.3. Learn more about your rights as a patient.

If you don’t have a medical marijuana card issued by the Virginia Board of Pharmacy, you can still get charged with cannabis-related offenses. Find out the charges you can face for being in possession of marijuana.

Doctors Near You

Please allow us to access to your location to find local doctors

Dispensaries Near You

Please allow us to access to your location to find local dispensaries
plus sign

Are You A Doctor?

get listed here

Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Sign up for MarijuanaDoctors.com Free Monthly Newsletter! You Receive:

  • Exclusive Stories, News, Medical Reports & Articles, Fraud Alerts
  • Discounts, Coupons & Free Giveaways
  • Trusted Information