Wyoming Cannabis Facts

Updated on June 15, 2020.  Medical content reviewed by Dr. Joseph Rosado, MD, M.B.A, Chief Medical Officer

Wyoming Medical Marijuana Facts

Many people find the medical marijuana facts for Wyoming to be disappointing. While the state does have a medical cannabis program, the only patients who can take advantage of it are patients suffering from severe epilepsy. In many states that have truly comprehensive medical marijuana programs, the percentage of patients who have this condition is miniscule, anywhere from 1% to 2.5%. Also, patients in Wyoming only have access to cannabidiol (CBD) oil, an extract of the cannabis plant — but they can’t legally purchase it in the state.

Medical Marijuana Facts for Wyoming

  • Several lawmakers introduced legislation in 2017 that would expand the very restrictive Wyoming medical marijuana program, but none of them advanced out of the committee stage. As a result, they were not put to a vote.
  • One bill would have allowed doctors to recommend cannabis that was low in THC but would not have established a system of dispensaries. Another would have expanded the program to allow people suffering from a wide range of conditions to legally use CBD oil. Yet another would have allowed people from outside the state to legally possess medicinal weed in Wyoming.
  • Some advocates believe that the only way that a comprehensive medical cannabis program will ever be established in Wyoming will be to bring the matter to the public for a vote. However, an attempt to create a ballot initiative for 2018 failed because organizers were not able to collect the required number of signatures (25,673) before the deadline.
  • An effort to create a ballot initiative also failed in 2015.
  • Yet another bill that would have reformed Wyoming’s marijuana policy failed to make it to a vote. However, this bill, which would have reduced the penalties for possessing less than three ounces of weed, did pass the House. The bill would have changed the penalties to no more than 20 days in jail and/or a fine of up to $200.
  • But the marijuana facts for Wyoming continue to be that use of marijuana — or being caught under the influence of weed — remains punishable by up to six months in jail and a fine of as much as $750. Anyone caught with three ounces or less faces a maximum jail term of a year and a fine of up to $1,000. Possession of more than three ounces is a felony, with those convicted facing up to five years in jail and a maximum fine of $10,000.
  • If you are caught selling weed — no matter the amount — you will face a felony charge — up to 10 years in prison and a $10,000 fine. Simply possessing paraphernalia can lead to six months in jail and a $750 fine.
  • The vast majority of Wyoming voters — 72 percent — say they are in favor of eliminating jail time for people who are caught with a small amount of weed.

For more medical marijuana facts for Wyoming as well as the rest of the United States, check back with MarijuanaDoctors.com as often as possible. We’ll update you on developments as they warrant.

Doctors Near You

Please allow us to access to your location to find local doctors

Dispensaries Near You

Please allow us to access to your location to find local dispensaries
plus sign

Are You A Doctor?

get listed here

Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Sign up for MarijuanaDoctors.com Free Monthly Newsletter! You Receive:

  • Exclusive Stories, News, Medical Reports & Articles, Fraud Alerts
  • Discounts, Coupons & Free Giveaways
  • Trusted Information