VA Marijuana Qualifications

Updated on June 15, 2020.  Medical content reviewed by Dr. Joseph Rosado, MD, M.B.A, Chief Medical Officer

2019 Update: Virginia has formally passed SB1719 which expands upon House Bill 1251. Please see Recent Legislation Changes for the complete update.

Qualifications for Virginia’s Medical Marijuana Program

Currently, symptoms from any condition or disease a licensed Physician, Nurse Practitioner or Physicians Assistant, currently registered with the VA Board of Pharmacy, that would benefit from THC-A or CBD qualifies for written certification. Thanks to the provisions outlined in §18.2-250.1  and in §54.1-3408.3, patients with a debilitating medical condition can now pursue treatment using THC-A or CBD after receiving a written certification from their practitioner.

The legislation leaves it in the hands of the healthcare practitioner to decide whether the patient should receive medical marijuana treatments. The only preface is that THC-A or CBD must only be used to alleviate the symptoms of a diagnosed disease or condition. As a result, the new Virginia medical marijuana laws offer a broad acceptance policy.

Virginia Medical Marijuana Program: Information

  1. Patients must be issued a written certification by a licensed Physician, Nurse Practitioner or Physician Assistant who is registered with and certified by Virginia’s Board of Pharmacy to recommend CBD or THC-A Oil.
    • The Physician, Nurse Practitioner or Physician Assistant must maintain a current registration with the Board of Pharmacy.  Physicians & Physicians assistant must be licensed by the Board of Medicine & Nurse Practitioners must be jointly licensed by the Board of Medicine & Board of Nursing.
  2. Patients must provide proof of identity using either a identification card or an valid Driver’s License issued by the state of Virginia or a valid Passport issued by the U.S. Government.
  3. Patients must be a resident of Virginia and will need to provide proof of residency.
  4. Patient must be diagnosed with a condition or disease determined by the licensed practitioner where CBD or THC-A could alleviate symptoms.
  5. After receiving a recommendation from a Certified Physician, patients must then register with the Department of Health Professions.
    • The initial registration fee is $50 and the annual renewal fee is $50.
    • When registering as a minor patient, the legal parent or guardian of said minor must also be registered. Please click here for more information.
  6. Applications will be processed by the Board of Pharmacy within 7-10 business days. Once processed and issued, registration cards will be mailed to the address provided on the application.