Search
Marijuana Doctors
A New Kind Of Healthcare

Search

Pennsylvania Marijuana Penalties

Marijuana is currently illegal in Pennsylvania, but the state is set to legalize the manufacture and use of medical cannabis once a law that was passed in 2016 becomes fully operational. So, possessing, manufacturing, selling or distributing marijuana in Pennsylvania incurs penalties.

Penalties for Possession

Possessing 30g of marijuana or less incurs a penalty of a $500 fine and up to 30 days in jail. Possessing over 30g of marijuana attracts a maximum fine of $5,000 and a maximum sentence of one year in prison.

For a first-time conviction, the offender may get a conditional release with one year of probation instead of going to jail. If a person is charged and convicted a second time, the penalty is doubled.

Penalties for Sale or Distribution

Distributing 30g or less without receiving any compensation is punished by a fine of up to $500 and up to 30 days’ imprisonment. Selling or distributing 1,000 grams or less is a felony that may result in a $25,000 fine and up to three years in prison. Offenders with a prior drug conviction are subject to the maximum penalty. The court may also claim the proceeds of the drug crime by increasing the fines beyond the maximum penalty.

Selling or distributing 1,000 pounds or more is a felony that may lead to incarceration for up to 10 years and a maximum fine of $100,000. A subsequent conviction attracts double the penalty. The penalty may also be doubled if the sale is to a minor. Also, the court can increase the fines payable to ensure the offender forfeits the proceeds of the crime.

Delivery or sale of any amount of cannabis within 1,000 feet of a learning institution, within 250 feet of a playground or in the presence of minors is punished by a jail sentence of one to two years. Distributing cannabis to a minor is a felony, and penalties double.

Cultivation

Cultivating cannabis, even with no intention of selling or distributing it, is a felony that can result in a prison term of five years and fines of up to $15,000.

Who Can Recommend Medical Marijuana in Pennsylvania?

Only patients with qualifying medical conditions can legally access and use cannabis for therapeutic purposes. To get certified to use medical marijuana and obtain a marijuana ID card, patients must get a recommendation from a registered medical doctor.

Find Qualified Marijuana Doctors and Dispensaries in Pennsylvania

The right treatment begins with the right medical marijuana provider. Whether you’re looking for a marijuana doctor to give you a prescription or a cannabis clinic from which you can select your recommended dose, we want to help you make the choice that is right for you. Our online search system makes it easy and efficient to find the right cannabis doctor, in the right location in Pennsylvania.

Use our online search system today to begin your partnership with a qualified medical marijuana provider. When you find one who’s the right fit, take the next step and make an appointment through our convenient online booking system.

Doctors Near You

Please allow us to access to your location to find local doctors

Dispensaries Near You

Please allow us to access to your location to find local dispensaries

Are You A Doctor?

get listed here

Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Sign up for MarijuanaDoctors.com Free Monthly Newsletter! You Receive:

  • Exclusive Stories, News, Medical Reports & Articles, Fraud Alerts
  • Discounts, Coupons & Free Giveaways
  • Trusted Information