Updated on May 19, 2020. Medical content reviewed by Dr. Joseph Rosado, MD, M.B.A, Chief Medical Officer
Marijuana doesn’t work like just one medicine — it acts more like a full medicine cabinet of remedies thanks to its numerous components. One marijuana compound called cannabidiol (CBD) doesn’t cause psychoactive effects. It also happens to have the power to relieve many conditions. These benefits cause it to go under different regulations than marijuana in some circumstances. In Nevada, many factors decide how and where to get CBD.
Nevada’s progressive cannabis laws give patients plenty of sources of legal CBD. You can buy marijuana-based CBD from a medical dispensary or a retail cannabis store. The state’s hemp industry also produces CBD oil you can find at health and wellness stores.
Cannabis-derived CBD can have varying levels of tetrahydrocannabinol (THC), the psychoactive substance in marijuana. Because of its THC levels, it falls under recreational and medical cannabis laws. Any CBD-rich medicine with more than 0.3 percent THC must be sold at a dispensary.
Meanwhile, hemp has less than 0.3 percent THC. It provides fewer medical benefits as a result, but you also don’t need a patient card or ID to buy it. However, you do need to pay careful attention to product labels. Not all CBD products in Nevada come from in-state, meaning they don’t have the quality control the hemp industry requires.
Any adult over 21 can get recreational marijuana products, which contain CBD, while just about anyone can buy hemp-based CBD. So, why sign up for a medical marijuana card to get CBD? Patients who join the program get access to medical-grade products and legal protections. The registry accepts patients with conditions such as:
To learn more about Nevada’s requirements, visit our state qualification page.
Patients must be a full-time Nevada resident with a valid Nevada I.D. as proof of residency.
Patients must be diagnosed by their physician with one of the qualifying conditions. Any Nevada doctor with a license to write a prescription and who is in good standing with their appropriate board can sign the Attending Healthcare Provider Statement.
Patients are required to submit an application to the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services, Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health. You can register online or by mail.
Patients are required to pay a registration fee, which is $50 for a one-year registration and $100 for a two-year registration.
As you can see, the laws surrounding CBD and marijuana overlap in Nevada. For the best treatment results, we recommend getting CBD through the medicinal cannabis program. Visit a marijuana-friendly doctor today to learn more.