Updated on May 19, 2020. Medical content reviewed by Dr. Joseph Rosado, MD, M.B.A, Chief Medical Officer
Patients in Nevada diagnosed with one of the following severe, debilitating or life-threatening medical conditions are afforded legal protection under the Nevada Medical Marijuana law, as per Ballot Question 9:
Patients must be a full-time Nevada resident with a valid Nevada I.D. as proof of residency.
Patients must be diagnosed by their physician with one of the qualifying conditions. Any Nevada doctor with a license to write a prescription and who is in good standing with their appropriate board can sign the Attending Healthcare Provider Statement.
Patients are required to submit an application to the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services, Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health. You can register online or by mail.
Patients are required to pay a registration fee, which is $50 for a one-year registration and $100 for a two-year registration.
On Nov. 7, 2000, Nevada voters approved Question 9, amending the state’s constitution to recognize the medical use of marijuana — effectively removing state-level criminal penalties on the use, possession and cultivation of medical marijuana (also referred to as medical weed, medical pot or medical cannabis) by patients who have written documentation from a state-licensed physician that marijuana may alleviate his or her condition.
Question 9 has been codified in the Nevada Revised Statutes (NRS) 453A.120. Under Nevada medical marijuana law, only a person with a qualifying medical condition who has obtained a valid Nevada Medical Marijuana Program card (also referred to as medical marijuana card) is approved for the medical use of marijuana.
Patients or their primary caregivers may cultivate marijuana if there is now dispensary within 25 miles of where they live or if there is no dispensary in their county. Patients may also cultivate marijuana if they are unable to travel because of their illness or lack of transportation, or the nearby dispensaries do not make the appropriate strain for treating their medical condition.
On Nov. 8, 2016, voters in Nevada passed Ballot Question 2, aka the Regulation and Taxation of Marijuana Act, which legalized recreational weed in Nevada for adults 21 and older. The new Nevada weed law took effect July 1, 2017, which meant people could begin purchasing, possessing and consuming Nevada recreational weed.
Marijuana laws are constantly changing. Check back with MarijuanaDoctors.com on a regular basis, and we will keep you updated regarding developments on this very important issue as they warrant.