Updated on June 28, 2021. Medical content reviewed by Dr. Joseph Rosado, MD, M.B.A, Chief Medical Officer
Medical Marijuana became legalized in Missouri on December 6, 2018. Qualifying patients are able to register with the Missouri Department of Health & Senior Services (DHSS) and it is anticipated that patients will be able to purchase medical marijuana in mid-2020.
Missouri Department of Health & Senior Services
Licensing & Regulations – Medical Marijuana
PO Box 570
Jefferson City, MO 65102-0570
Phone: (573) 751-6400
For More Information Please Visit the FAQ page of the Medical Marijuana section of Missouri’s Department of Health website at https://health.mo.gov/safety/medical-marijuana/faqs.php
Patients suffering from epilepsy are eligible to use cannabidiol (CBD) oil and that the oil must be derived from hemp, and not marijuana. Hemp lacks many of the medicinal qualities marijuana, and many advocates believe it is nowhere near as effective as a medicine.
Once dispensaries are open patients will be able to purchase medical marijuana. There will be a reported 192 licensed dispensaries in Missouri by the end of 2020, with at least 24 dispensary licenses for each United States Congressional district in the State of Missouri. An entity may apply and obtain anywhere from 1-5 total dispensary licenses. Additionally, Missouri will license 60 cultivation facilities to supply medical marijuana for licensed dispensaries.
The Missouri DHSS has received applications for over 500 dispensaries. Missouri’s rules governing cannabis-business licensing dictates that dispensaries will be spread across all parts of Missouri to ensure widespread access.
Even though the Missouri medical marijuana program is among the most restrictive in the entire country, the state has at least made some common-sense movement toward decriminalizing possession of small amounts of pot.
In 2017, a new law went into effect that makes possession of fewer than 35 grams of pot punishable by a fine of between $250 and $1,000. While that’s still substantial, the penalty does not include any jail time. However, if anyone is caught with more than 35 grams (an amount equivalent to just about 1.25 ounces), that’s considered a felony offense that is punishable by as many as seven years in jail and a fine of as much as $5,000.
Our section on Missouri’s marijuana laws provides comprehensive information on the penalties associated with weed possession.