Search
Marijuana Doctors
A New Kind Of Healthcare
Search

Iowa Marijuana Penalties

Updated on June 5, 2020.  Medical content reviewed by Dr. Joseph Rosado, MD, M.B.A, Chief Medical Officer

Iowa Medical Marijuana Penalties

Marijuana possession, sale, and manufacture are regulated by both state and federal law. In Iowa, marijuana is classified as a Schedule I substance.(Iowa law does, however, make limited exceptions for low-THC cannabidiol extracts prescribed for certain chronic medical conditions.)

Iowa’s Marijuana Possession Laws and Potential Penalties

Possession of any amount of marijuana in Iowa is a classified as a misdimeanor. First offenders will face up to six months in jail, a fine of up to $1,000, or both. Penalties for a second offense include up to one year in jail, a fine of between $315 and $1,875, or both. Any subsequent offense is an aggravated misdemeanor, and carries up to two years’ imprisonment and a fine of between $625 and $6,250. (Iowa Code §§ 124.401, 903.1 (2019).)

Probation. For possession offenses, the judge may order a defendant placed on probation in lieu of imprisonment, with certain conditions on the probation, such as participation in a drug treatment, rehabilitation, or education program. (Iowa Code § 124.401(5) (2019).)

Possession within 1,000 feet of a school zone. A marijuana possession violation within 1,000 feet of school property, a public park, swimming pool, or recreation center, or while on a marked school bus, is punishable with an additional 100 hours of community service. (Iowa Code § 124.401B (2019).)

Doctors Near You

Please allow us to access to your location to find local doctors

Dispensaries Near You

Please allow us to access to your location to find local dispensaries
plus sign

Are You A Doctor?

get listed here

Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Sign up for MarijuanaDoctors.com Free Monthly Newsletter! You Receive:

  • Exclusive Stories, News, Medical Reports & Articles, Fraud Alerts
  • Discounts, Coupons & Free Giveaways
  • Trusted Information