FL Marijuana Laws

Updated on June 16, 2021.  Medical content reviewed by Dr. Joseph Rosado, MD, M.B.A, Chief Medical Officer

Florida is a relative newcomer to the world of medical marijuana. The state first legalized medical marijuana in November 2016 with the passage of Amendment 2, also known as the Florida Medical Marijuana Legalization Initiative.

Florida has since expanded its medical marijuana laws. In March 2019, the governor signed SB 182 into law, which allows medical marijuana patients to smoke medical marijuana if a qualified physician deems this method to be appropriate.

Florida Medical Marijuana: Qualifications

In Florida, the use of medical marijuana is limited to patients who have been diagnosed with the following conditions: cancer, epilepsy, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, post-traumatic stress disorder, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Crohn’s disease, Parkinson’s disease, multiple sclerosis or any similar medical condition. Patients may also be diagnosed with a terminal condition or chronic malignant pain caused by a qualifying condition.

Patients must also be permanent or seasonal residents of Florida. They must be diagnosed by a qualified physician, or a doctor who has completed the required training.

After the diagnosis, patients must be entered in the Medical Marijuana Use Registry in order to obtain their ID card.

Florida Medical Marijuana: Where To Get It

Patients with a Florida medical marijuana card can purchase cannabis at a licensed medical marijuana treatment center. The order must be placed by the patient’s qualified physician.

If patients live in a city without a state-approved treatment center, they may arrange for delivery.

As it stands now, Florida law does not allow anyone other than approved treatment centers to grow marijuana.

Florida’s approved treatment centers can sell marijuana and low-THC cannabis, which the state defines as cannabis that contains 0.8 percent or less THC and more than 10 percent CBD.

These treatment centers are vertically integrated and must go through three levels of approval — cultivation, processing and dispensing.

Changing Florida Marijuana Laws

As in many states, marijuana laws are changing in Florida. Proponents of recreational marijuana hope to get an initiative on the 2022 ballot that would ask Florida voters whether to legalize recreational marijuana. We at MarijuanaDoctors.com will keep you informed about Florida marijuana law developments as soon as we hear about them.

Florida Medical Marijuana Law

BALLOT TITLE: Use of Marijuana for Debilitating Medical Conditions

BALLOT SUMMARY: Allows medical use of marijuana for individuals with debilitating medical conditions as determined by a licensed Florida physician. Allows caregivers to assist patients’ medical use of marijuana. The Department of Health shall register and regulate centers that produce and distribute marijuana for medical purposes and shall issue identification cards to patients and caregivers. Applies only to Florida law. Does not immunize violations of federal law or any non-medical use, possession or production of marijuana.

ARTICLE AND SECTION BEING CREATED OR AMENDED: Article X, Section 29 FULL TEXT OF THE PROPOSED CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT:

ARTICLE X, SECTION 29.– Medical marijuana production, possession and use.

(a) PUBLIC POLICY.

(1) The medical use of marijuana by a qualifying patient or caregiver in compliance with this section is not subject to criminal or civil liability or sanctions under Florida law.

(2) A physician shall not be subject to criminal or civil liability or sanctions under Florida law solely for issuing a physician certification with reasonable care to a person diagnosed with a debilitating medical condition in compliance with this section.

(3) Actions and conduct by a Medical Marijuana Treatment Center registered with the Department, or its agents or employees, and in compliance with this section and Department regulations, shall not be subject to criminal or civil liability or sanctions under Florida law. (b) DEFINITIONS. For purposes of this section, the following words and terms shall have the following meanings:

(1) “Debilitating Medical Condition” means cancer, epilepsy, glaucoma, positive status for human immunodeficiency virus (HIV), acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS), post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), Crohn’s disease, Parkinson’s disease, multiple sclerosis, or other debilitating medical conditions of the same kind or class as or comparable to those enumerated, and for which a physician believes that the medical use of marijuana would likely outweigh the potential health risks for a patient.

(2) “Department” means the Department of Health or its successor agency.

(3) “Identification card” means a document issued by the Department that identifies a qualifying patient or a caregiver.

(4) “Marijuana” has the meaning given cannabis in Section 893.02(3), Florida Statutes (2014), and, in addition, “Low-THC cannabis” as defined in Section 381.986(1)(b), Florida Statutes (2014), shall also be included in the meaning of the term “marijuana.”

(5) “Medical Marijuana Treatment Center” (MMTC) means an entity that acquires, cultivates, possesses, processes (including development of related products such as food, tinctures, aerosols, oils, or ointments), transfers, transports, sells, distributes, dispenses, or administers marijuana, products containing marijuana, related supplies, or educational materials to qualifying patients or their caregivers and is registered by the Department.

(6) “Medical use” means the acquisition, possession, use, delivery, transfer, or administration of an amount of marijuana not in conflict with Department rules, or of related supplies by a qualifying patient or caregiver for use by the caregiver’s designated qualifying patient for the treatment of a debilitating medical condition.

(7) “Caregiver” means a person who is at least twenty-one (21) years old who has agreed to assist with a qualifying patient’s medical use of marijuana and has qualified for and obtained a caregiver identification card issued by the Department. The Department may limit the number of qualifying patients a caregiver may assist at one time and the number of caregivers that a qualifying patient may have at one time. Caregivers are prohibited from consuming marijuana obtained for medical use by the qualifying patient.

(8) “Physician” means a person who is licensed to practice medicine in Florida.

“Department” means the Department of Health or its successor agency.

“Identification card” means a document issued by the Department that identifies a qualifying patient or a caregiver.

“Marijuana” has the meaning given cannabis in Section 893.02(3), Florida Statutes (2014), and, in addition, “Low-THC cannabis” as defined in Section 381.986(1)(b), Florida Statutes (2014), shall also be included in the meaning of the term “marijuana.”

(9) “Physician certification” means a written document signed by a physician, stating that in the physician’s professional opinion, the patient suffers from a debilitating medical condition, that the medical use of marijuana would likely outweigh the potential health risks for the patient, and for how long the physician recommends the medical use of marijuana for the patient. A physician certification may only be provided after the physician has conducted a physical examination and a full assessment of the medical history of the patient. In order for a physician certification to be issued to a minor, a parent or legal guardian of the minor must consent in writing.

(10) “Qualifying patient” means a person who has been diagnosed to have a debilitating medical condition, who has a physician certification and a valid qualifying patient identification card. If the Department does not begin issuing identification cards within nine (9) months after the effective date of this section, then a valid physician certification will serve as a patient identification card in order to allow a person to become a “qualifying patient” until the Department begins issuing identification cards.

(c) LIMITATIONS.

(1) Nothing in this section allows for a violation of any law other than for conduct in compliance with the provisions of this section.

(2) Nothing in this section shall affect or repeal laws relating to non-medical use, possession, production, or sale of marijuana.

(3) Nothing in this section authorizes the use of medical marijuana by anyone other than a qualifying patient.

(4) Nothing in this section shall permit the operation of any vehicle, aircraft, train or boat while under the influence of marijuana.

(5) Nothing in this section requires the violation of federal law or purports to give immunity under federal law.

(6) Nothing in this section shall require any accommodation of any on-site medical use of marijuana in any correctional institution or detention facility or place of education or employment, or of smoking medical marijuana in any public place.

(7) Nothing in this section shall require any health insurance provider or any government agency or authority to reimburse any person for expenses related to the medical use of marijuana

(8) Nothing in this section shall affect or repeal laws relating to negligence or professional malpractice on the part of a qualified patient, caregiver, physician, MMTC, or its agents or employees.

(d) DUTIES OF THE DEPARTMENT. The Department shall issue reasonable regulations necessary for the implementation and enforcement of this section. The purpose of the regulations is to ensure the availability and safe use of medical marijuana by qualifying patients. It is the duty of the Department to promulgate regulations in a timely fashion.

(1) Implementing Regulations. In order to allow the Department sufficient time after passage of this section, the following regulations shall be promulgated no later than six (6) months after the effective date of this section:

a. Procedures for the issuance and annual renewal of qualifying patient identification cards to people with physician certifications and standards for renewal of such identification cards. Before issuing an identification card to a minor, the Department must receive written consent from the minor’s parent or legal guardian, in addition to the physician certification.

b. Procedures establishing qualifications and standards for caregivers, including conducting appropriate background checks, and procedures for the issuance and annual renewal of caregiver identification cards.

c. Procedures for the registration of MMTCs that include procedures for the issuance, renewal, suspension and revocation of registration, and standards to ensure proper security, record keeping, testing, labeling, inspection, and safety.

d. A regulation that defines the amount of marijuana that could reasonably be presumed to be an adequate supply for qualifying patients’ medical use, based on the best available evidence. This presumption as to quantity may be overcome with evidence of a particular qualifying patient’s appropriate medical use.

(2) Identification cards and registrations. The Department shall begin issuing qualifying patient and caregiver identification cards, and

registering MMTCs no later than nine (9) months after the effective date of this section.

(3) If the Department does not issue regulations, or if the Department does not begin issuing identification cards and registering MMTCs within the time limits set in this section, any Florida citizen shall have standing to seek judicial relief to compel compliance with the Department’s constitutional duties.

(4) The Department shall protect the confidentiality of all qualifying patients. All records containing the identity of qualifying patients shall be confidential and kept from public disclosure other than for valid medical or law enforcement purposes.

• (e)  LEGISLATION. Nothing in this section shall limit the legislature from enacting laws consistent with this section.

• (f)  SEVERABILITY. The provisions of this section are severable and if any clause, sentence, paragraph or section of this measure, or an application thereof, is adjudged invalid by a court of competent jurisdiction other provisions shall continue to be in effect to the fullest extent possible.

READ MORE — Article X, Section 29, Constitutional Amendment 2 [FULL TEXT]

Doctors Near You

Please allow us to access to your location to find local doctors

Dispensaries Near You

Please allow us to access to your location to find local dispensaries
plus sign

Are You A Doctor?

get listed here

Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Sign up for MarijuanaDoctors.com Free Monthly Newsletter! You Receive:

  • Exclusive Stories, News, Medical Reports & Articles, Fraud Alerts
  • Discounts, Coupons & Free Giveaways
  • Trusted Information
sidebar image

Florida Marijuana Possession Laws

  • Possession of 20 grams or less of dried cannabis is a misdemeanor that is punishable by a maximum sentence of one-year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $1,000.
  • Possession of more than 20 grams of dried cannabis is a felony that is punishable by a maximum sentence of five years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $5,000.
  • Possession of 25 or more cannabis plants is a felony that is punishable by a maximum sentence of 15 years in prison and a fine of $10,000. Possession of less than 25 cannabis plants is a felony that is punishable by a maximum sentence of five years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $5,000.

If you are a patient in the State of Florida, it is important to fully understand the laws pertaining to the possession of cannabis. For more information please reference the following sections of the Florida Criminal Code:

  • Florida Criminal Code 893.13
  • Florida Criminal Code § 893.03(c)(35)
  • Florida Criminal Code § 893.13
  • Florida Criminal Code § 775.082(a)

Florida Marijuana Distribution Laws

  • In the state of Florida, the delivery of 20 grams or less of dried marijuana without remuneration is a misdemeanor punishable by a maximum sentence of one-year imprisonment and a maximum fine of $1,000.
  • The sale of 25 lbs. or less of dried cannabis is a felony that is made punishable by a maximum sentence of five years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $5,000.
  • The sale of 25-2,000 lbs. (or 300-2,000 plants) is a felony that is made punishable by a mandatory minimum sentence of three years imprisonment and a maximum sentence of 15 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $25,000.
  • The sale of 2,000-10,000 lbs. (or 2,000-10,000 plants) is a felony punishable by a mandatory minimum sentence of seven years and a maximum sentence of 30 years imprisonment as well as a maximum fine of $50,000.
  • The sale of 10,000 lbs. or more of dried cannabis is a felony that is deemed punishable by a mandatory minimum sentence of fifteen years imprisonment and a maximum sentence of 30 years imprisonment as well as a maximum fine of $200,000.
  • In the state of Florida, the sale or delivery of cannabis within 1,000 feet of a school, college, park, or other specified areas is a felony that is considered punishable by a maximum sentence of 15 years imprisonment and a maximum fine of $10,000.

If you are a patient in the State of Florida, it is important to fully understand the laws pertaining to the distribution of cannabis. For more information please reference the following sections of the Florida Criminal Code:

  • Florida Criminal Code 893.13
  • Florida Criminal Code § 893.03(c)(35)
  • Florida Criminal Code § 893.13
  • Florida Criminal Code § 893.135
  • Florida Criminal Code § 775.082(a)

Offense

Penalty

Incarceration

Max. Fine

Possession

20 grams or less.

Misdemeanor

1 year

$1,000

More than 20 grams.

Felony

5 years

$5,000

Less than 25 grams.

Felony

5 years

$5,000

25 plants

Felony

15 years

$10,000

Sale

20 grams or less without remuneration

Misdemeanor

1 year

$1,000

25 lbs. or less

Felony

5 years

$5,000

25 — 2,000 lbs. (or 300-2,000 plants)

Felony

3*-15 years

$25,000

2,000 – 10,000 lbs. (or 2,000-10,000 plants)

Felony

7*-30 years

$50,000

10,000 lbs. or more

Felony

15*-30 years

$200,000

Within 1,000 feet of a school, college, park, or other specified areas.

Felony

15 years

$10,000

* Mandatory minimum sentence.

Paraphernalia

Possession of paraphernalia

Misdemeanor

1 year

$1,000

Hash & Concentrates

Possession of less than 3 g.

Misdemeanor

1 year

$1,000

Possession of 3 g. or more

Felony

5 years

$5,000

Selling, manufacturing or delivering

Felony

5 years

$5,000

quote icon

Finally, a helpful & informative website! MarijuanaDoctors.com answered all of my medical marijuana questions and helped me schedule an appointment with an accredited doctor in my area.~Susan - Denver, CO

×