Updated on January 25, 2019.
Medical content reviewed by Dr. Richard Koffler, MD, Board Certified Physiatrist
In order to be afforded legal protection of the Florida Medical Marijuana law, qualified medical marijuana patients must register with the State’s patient registry and possess a valid state-issued identification card, issued by the Florida Department of Health Medical Marijuana Program.
A Florida medical marijuana card is a personal identification card verifying that the patient is a legal state-registered medical marijuana patient, and for purposes of the Department and law enforcement, medical marijuana cards also identify those individuals exempt from criminal and civil penalties, for conduct pursuant to the medical use of marijuana.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NoDerivs 3.0 United States License. If you like our infographic, feel free to share it on your site as long as you include a link back to this post to credit Marijuana Doctors as the original creator of the graphic.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in Florida
- The patient must be a Florida resident with a valid Florida ID.
- The patient must be registered in the Medical Marijuana Use Registry by their ordering physician. Patients can receive a recommendation in their first or second visit with a qualifying physician. Physicians must also submit Patient – Doctor Statutorily Required-Documentation to either the Board of Osteopathic Medicine or the Board of Medicine.
- Submit a completed application to the Office of Medical Marijuana Use. (Can be electronically or by paper application.) Application requirements:
- A fully completed application (sent via email after your physician has added you to the Medical Marijuana Use Registry)
- A copy of your Florida driver license or Florida ID card
- A $75 check made out to “Florida Department of Health”
- A full-face, passport-type 2×2 inch, color photograph taken within 90 days of preceding application.
Requirements of the Florida Medical Marijuana Use Registry
- If the patient is under the age of 18, they must have a second physician agree to the use in order to obtain an order from a qualified physician
- Patients are required to obtain legitimate medical records or documentation from their primary care physician describing the diagnosis of their qualifying condition — *Learn how to request your medical records
- To qualify, a patient needs to be a patient of the ordering doctor for at least 3 months prior and needs to be diagnosed by the physician as having one of the following debilitating medical conditions that is specifically identified in the law:
- Any other ailment/condition of the same severity/symptoms, when determined by a physician’s opinion that the medical use of marijuana would surpass any potential health risks.
- Patients (or their legal guardian) must provide the physician with written informed consent before being eligible to receive a doctor’s recommendation to use medical marijuana.
- Patients are required to obtain a signed Physician’s Statement from a physician, currently licensed to practice medicine in Florida — *Find a certified medical marijuana physician in Florida
- The ordering physician must determine the risks of use are reasonable in light of the benefit to the patient.
Medical Marijuana Cards for Seasonal Residents of Florida
Seasonal residents, or patients who maintain a temporary residence in Florida, are required to provide the DOH with a copy of their Florida ID and two documents that show seasonal residency in order to qualify for a medical marijuana recommendation.