Powered By Veriheal

Delaware Cannabis Facts

Updated on December 8, 2017.  Medical content reviewed by Dr. Joseph Rosado, MD, M.B.A, Chief Medical Officer

Delaware Medical Marijuana Facts

Delaware joined the ranks of medical marijuana states in May of 2011, when Governor Markell signed Senate Bill 17, into law. The bill passed both the state Senate and House, with wide margins. The law officially went into effect on July 01, 2011.However, one of the more interesting Delaware medical marijuana facts is that only some of its provisions were active as the state worked to properly set up the program. Until that time, the only active provision available was an affirmative defense, for patients with a doctor’s recommendation.

The Delaware Department of Health and Social Services is expected to begin issuing Delaware medical marijuana cards by July 2012 and license the first 3 of a possible 6 official dispensaries by January 2013.

Medical Marijuana Facts for Delaware

  • One uncommon fact about medical marijuana in Delaware is that patients and their caregivers will NOT be allowed to cultivate or grow their own cannabis plants. Instead, they will have to rely on the state-licensed distribution centers.
  • Patients will be allowed to posses 6 ounces of marijuana and will be protected from arrest and prosecution.
  • Registration with the state will be mandatory.
  • An uncommon qualifying condition for medical marijuana in Delaware will be “Decompensated Cirrhosis.”
  • The Delaware Medical Marijuana Act closely matches the model medical marijuana bill developed by the Marijuana Policy Project (MPP).
  • The Compassion centers that the law envisions will be closely monitored by the government and will in fact be forbidden from advertising their services or sharing office space with any physicians. They will be allowed to dispense a maximum of 3 ounces of marijuana per patient every 14 days. wants all of our readers to be well informed regarding medical marijuana facts for Delaware and all other states. Check back often with us for updates.

Delaware Marijuana Use Facts

  • Facts about marijuana use in general, show that Delaware was the 12th state with the highest marijuana arrest rate as recently as 2007, and there were roughly 80,000 cannabis users in the state that same year.
  • The maximum sentence for possession of 1 Ounce of marijuana in Delaware is 6 months in jail and a $1,150 fine.
  • The maximum sentence for possession of between one ounce and 175 grams of marijuana in Delaware is three months in jail and a $575 fine.
  • It has been estimated that marijuana prohibition costs the Delaware justice system more than $50 million a year.
  • As with national trends, marijuana-related arrests in Delaware disproportionally targeted African-Americans.
  • Marijuana use facts for Delaware show that more than half of users in 2007 were over the age of 26. The group with the greatest frequency of users was found to be the 18-25 year-olds, 32% of whom have used cannabis.
  • Of Delaware’s 3 counties, New Castle County accounted for half of marijuana arrests in the state in 2007, however both Sussex and Kent counties had significantly higher marijuana arrest rates.
  • Anyone caught using or possessing drug paraphernalia associated with small amounts of marijuana will be subject to a fine of up to $100. However, anyone who possesses paraphernalia with the intent to deliver could face as much as two years in jail.

Doctors Near You

Please allow us to access to your location to find local doctors

Dispensaries Near You

Please allow us to access to your location to find local dispensaries
plus sign

Are You A Doctor?

get listed here

Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Sign up for Free Monthly Newsletter! You Receive:

  • Exclusive Stories, News, Medical Reports & Articles, Fraud Alerts
  • Discounts, Coupons & Free Giveaways
  • Trusted Information