Medical cannabis is improving health and transforming the lives of thousands of Delaware residents who suffer from various health symptoms and medical conditions. Despite having active medical cannabis laws since 2011, many residents remain unaware of how beneficial medical marijuana truly is and how it can provide much-needed relief to their symptoms.
Residents must be 18 years of age or older to apply to the Delaware medical marijuana program. Patients younger than 18 may apply to register for marijuana treatments, but they must have the approval of their parent or legal guardian.
Residency Requirements for Medical Cannabis Card Applicants
Delaware is consistently ranked as one of the best states to live in across the country. Though home to seasonal and lifelong residents, medical cannabis privileges are extended to permanent residents only. Applicants must show proof of residency in the form of a state-issued identification or driver’s license with their applications.
The Delaware department of health oversees the state’s medical cannabis program. Only the following medical conditions are recognized for medicinal marijuana treatment in the state of Delaware.
Any chronic or debilitating medical disorder that results in any of the following symptoms:
Medical cannabis treatments are also available to minors with any terminal illness-related symptom listed below:
Delaware also allows patients suffering from anxiety to apply for a medical marijuana card. However, treatment options are limited to CBD-rich medical marijuana products. The only medical cannabis products available for them are products with 15 percent or higher CBD content and 7 percent or less THC content.
The state of Delaware charges a $50 fee for medical marijuana registry cards. This price is nonrefundable and also applies to renewing applicants.
To qualify for the Delaware Medical Marijuana Program (DMMP), applicants must be of legal age, have documentation proving their qualifying condition. They must also undergo a health evaluation with an approved marijuana physician or medical provider (MD, DO, APRN, or PA) to receive physician certification for marijuana treatment.
Minors interested in joining the DMMP registry must have written approval from a parent or guardian and certification from a qualified pediatric neurologist, gastroenterologist, pediatric oncologist, or pediatric palliative care specialist.
Despite its popularity, many residents have concerns about medical cannabis that range from how to get a medical marijuana registry card to where to find qualified cannabis doctors or licensed marijuana compassion centers or dispensaries. Please review the following information for the answers to any lingering questions and more.
With thousands of qualified medical providers, finding the right physician to see and discuss potential cannabis dosing and consumption recommendations with may seem like a daunting task. To make it more convenient and less challenging for patients to get their medical marijuana treatments faster, check out our Find a Doctor locator to find credible marijuana doctors in Delaware.
Medical marijuana compassionate use cards (MMCUCs) are valid for a period of 365 days from the date of issue. Patients must submit an application and pay all associated fees for renewal before their cards expire in order to continue using cannabis for medicinal purposes. Medical marijuana health recommendation recertifications fees vary by medical provider.
Residents who need to replace their lost, stolen, or damaged MMCUCs must visit the DMMP office in person to request a replacement or apply by postal mail. There is a $20 replacement fee for cannabis compassionate use cards.
Medical marijuana is available in a wide variety of products for patients to use for treatment. Delaware medical cannabis patients can procure up to 6 ounces or one-month’s supply of medicinal cannabis in the following forms:
Although patients with valid marijuana treatment cards can purchase up to the 6-ounce limit, they are only allowed to purchase up to 3-ounces of medical cannabis every 14 days. Individual and daily cannabis allotments are at the discretion of the certifying marijuana doctor.
Delaware residents seeking caregiver privileges must apply to the DMMP for approval. The requirements for the caregiver application are below:
Applicants with certain felony offenses are barred from the medical marijuana caregiver program.*
Dispensaries are referred to as compassionate centers in Delaware. To eliminate confusion and ensure marijuana medicine is secured from reputable sources, patients are allowed to visit any of the licensed, compassionate centers across the state.
To locate the nearest compassionate marijuana treatment center nearest you, use this Find a Dispensary locator.
Marijuana Doctors is a fast-growing medical cannabis network that maintains a comprehensive database of medical marijuana physicians, dispensaries, treatment centers, and information for the medical cannabis community. We thoroughly screen all medical providers, dispensaries, and industry resources to help patients quickly access the services and support they need to medicate safely with cannabis.
Getting approved for medical marijuana treatment cards is fast and convenient. Contact Marijuana Doctors today so you can start safely medicating with marijuana for relief.
Start your search. Enter info below or use my location.