Wisconsin Medical Marijuana Facts
Like many states, the discouraging medical marijuana facts for Wisconsin are rather bleak. The state only allows certain patients suffering from epilepsy to use cannabis, and only in extract form. They can use cannabidiol (CBD) oil to treat their symptoms, but this extract can be extremely expensive. In addition, state-approved CBD can have no THC, the psychoactive component in marijuana. This can have a very detrimental impact on the effectiveness of the extract.
Medical Marijuana Facts for Wisconsin
- To say that Wisconsin’s medical marijuana program is restrictive is a major understatement. Physicians can only recommend CBD oil, and it can only be dispensed by a pharmacist if the FDA allows them to. But the FDA will not be able to allow it until — or unless — the federal government reschedules cannabis under the Controlled Substances Act. As a result, patients who qualify under Wisconsin’s program can only obtain CBD from another state, and they can only do that if the state grants patients from other states access to its dispensaries.
- The only neighboring state that allowed out-of-state patients to access dispensaries as of February 2017 was Michigan. Other options include Nevada and Oregon, but, of course, they aren’t neighboring. This places a substantial burden on patients who can benefit from CBD.
- One of the stranger marijuana facts for Wisconsin is that it is unclear exactly what kind of medicinal weed is allowed. In general, state law prohibits THC possession, but it exempts patients who have cannabidiol that doesn’t have any THC. What’s unclear is whether or not this exemption applies to CBD oil that has trace amounts of THC.
- In January 2017, a state representative introduced a bill that would have made marijuana use legal for people 21 years of age or older. In addition, it would have established a true medical cannabis program that would encompass a wide range of conditions. The bill failed to make it through a subcommittee, and as a result, it never made it to the floor of the state legislature for a vote.
- In addition, legislation was introduced during the 2016 session that would have decriminalized possession of fewer than 25 grams of weed. Again, however, the bill did not get out of committee. Proponents of the bill said that decriminalization would help free law enforcement agents to pursue perpetrators of more serious crimes.
- Anyone caught possessing less than an ounce of weed could face a jail sentence of as long as six months and a fine of as much as $1,000. The American Civil Liberties Union reports that blacks are nearly four times more likely than whites to be arrested on a pot possession charge.
At MarijuanaDoctors.com, we hope that state lawmakers will one day change medical marijuana facts for Wisconsin and enact a sensible, compassionate — and even more importantly, a workable — program that would bring the benefits of cannabis to those who need it the most. We’ll keep you updated on developments as they warrant throughout the country, so you can continue to be well informed regarding this very important issue.
Updated on April 26, 2018