Updated on June 28, 2021. Medical content reviewed by Dr. Joseph Rosado, MD, M.B.A, Chief Medical Officer
Like many other progressive states, Rhode Island has decriminalized simple possession of small amounts of cannabis for individuals 18 years and above. Possession of less than one ounce is considered a civil offense just like a parking ticket and attracts a small fine of $150, with no jail time or criminal record.
Possession of an ounce to 1kg of marijuana is a misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to one year’s imprisonment and a maximum $500 fine.
Possession of 1 to 5kg of marijuana is a felony which attracts a 10-year mandatory minimum sentence and a maximum 50-year sentence in prison as well as a fine of up to $50,000. Having more than 5kg is a felony with a 25-year mandatory minimum sentence up to life imprisonment as well as a fine of up to $100,000.
Possession within 300 yards of a learning institution is a crime that results in a doubling of the above penalties. Having marijuana while driving is also a crime and results in driver’s license suspension for six months.
Sale or cultivation of marijuana that weighs less than 1kg is a felony punishable by a maximum of thirty years’ imprisonment and a maximum $100,000 fine. Selling or growing marijuana between 1 to 5kg is a felony which attracts a 10-year mandatory minimum sentence and a 50-year maximum sentence, as well as a fine of up to $500,000.
Selling within 300 yards of a learning institution, playground or public park is a crime that results in a doubling of the above penalties. If you are given a probation sentence without imprisonment, you must go through a drug abuse evaluation, a drug education course and perform 100 hours of community service.
Hash and concentrates are classified under marijuana. The penalties for their possession are the same as those found in the “possession” sections above.
When it comes to paraphernalia, the possession, sale, manufacture and delivery with intent to sell is a crime punishable by a maximum fine of $5,000 and two years in prison. Any person over 18 years of age who delivers drug paraphernalia to a person who is below 18 years is subject to a maximum fine of $5,000 and up to five years in prison.
Rhode Island allows the use of medical cannabis by those patients with pre-approved chronic and debilitating conditions and symptoms. Patients must, however, obtain a written medical recommendation from a qualified doctor, register with the state of Rhode Island and have a medical marijuana ID card. They may also choose a primary caregiver or medical dispensary to help them manage their dosage and use.
Your medical marijuana ID card gives you permission to visit any state-licensed dispensary and ask for your regular dose of medical cannabis. Caregivers can also go to any approved dispensary to obtain medical cannabis for up to five patients.
Dispensaries are often ideal places to meet medical marijuana doctors who can evaluate you and recommend the best strains of medicine to treat your condition.
Each patient can possess 2.5 ounces of medical marijuana, and may also cultivate a maximum of 12 mature plants. A registered patient may give or exchange medicine with another patient provided that the patient is also registered. There must also be no pay, and the amount involved can’t be more than the legal limit.
Each caregiver can possess but not use up to five ounces of medical marijuana and may also cultivate a maximum of 12 mature plants.
Utilize our easy-to-use search system to locate a qualified doctor who will diagnose and certify you for medical cannabis. This is a pre-requisite for you to be approved and registered by the State Department of Health.
Quickly and easily search for a qualified physician on MarijuanaDoctors.com by typing in your zip code or city. You will receive an extensive list of physicians who are close to your residence. You can then view their profile, determine whether they are suitable for you and schedule an appointment.