Search
Marijuana Doctors
A New Kind Of Healthcare
Search

OK Marijuana Qualification

Updated on April 10, 2019.  Medical content reviewed by Dr. Joseph Rosado, MD, M.B.A, Chief Medical Officer

Which Conditions Qualify for Medicinal Cannabis Treatment Under Oklahoma Law?

While most medical marijuana state laws include a list of qualifying conditions, Oklahoma does not. According to State Question 788, the proposed medical marijuana law approved by voters, doctors shall recommend licenses using the same judgment they would for prescriptions. In other words, a doctor can write a recommendation for any condition they see fit for medicinal cannabis treatment.

This law leaves the discretion up to the doctor, not state authorities. While one physician may consider medical marijuana appropriate for an illness, another one might not. If you feel that you could benefit from cannabis medicine and your doctor refuses to recommend it, you can visit another physician for a second opinion.

Since they have more research supporting their responsiveness to medicinal marijuana, these conditions commonly get approval from state programs and marijuana-friendly doctors:

To learn more about conditions treatable with medical marijuana, browse our ailment guides. For evidence-supported research on health conditions and cannabis medicine, read our case studies.

Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Program: Information

  1. Patients must be aged eighteen (18) years or older. If a patient is considered a minor, under the age of eighteen (18), the minor patient must designate a parent or legal guardian as their caregiver and obtain Medical Marijuana Recommendation Forms from two (2) physicians. Forms must be dated within thirty (30) days of each other and the second form must be dated within thirty (30) days of the Application Date.
  2. Patients must provide Proof Of Identity via a valid, unexpired Driver’s License or Identification Card issued by the State of Oklahoma or a valid Passport issued by the U.S. Government.
  3. Patients must also be residents of Oklahoma and provide proof of residency.
  4. Patients must be evaluated by qualified physician and the physician must deem Medical Marijuana appropriate for their condition. Find a Certified Doctor in Oklahoma
  5. After receiving a recommendation from a Certified Physician, patients must then register as a patient with the Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority (OMMA) through the Patient Registry and submit an application for an Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Patient License (Medical Marijuana Card).
    • Application Fees are $100Patients who provide proof of Medicaid (Soonercare) or Medicare enrollment may be eligbile to pay a reduced fee of $20.
    • All applications must be submitted online. Application Fees can be paid by Debit or Credit Card.
    • For More Information on Minor Patients, please Click Here.
  6. Within 30 days, If your application is approved, your Patient License (Medical Marijuana Card), will be mailed to the address on the application. Patients will then be able to legally buy, use and grow Medical Marijuana/Medical Marijuana Products in Oklahoma.

Access to Oklahoma Cannabis Medicine

Some patients mistakenly claim that their doctor gave them a prescription for marijuana. However, cannabis prescriptions are illegal under federal law. Instead, the medical marijuana industry uses the terms “recommendation” and “dispensary.” You get a recommendation from a doctor, which you then fill at a dispensary, which is considered an entirely different establishment from a pharmacy. Other medical patients can’t fill prescriptions there.

Once you have a medicinal cannabis card from the OMMA, you may visit any certified dispensary to buy medicine. The patient or caregiver has to show their medical marijuana ID and another form of identification when they buy medicine. Minor patients must make a purchase with the supervision of their guardian, who also has to show identification. These same rules apply when a patient goes to a processor to process marijuana into concentrate.

Patients and their caregivers may also buy seedlings from a dispensary to grow at home. A registered patient can have up to six seedlings and six mature plants at once. You cannot buy seedlings directly from a licensed grower. Instead, the grower brings them to dispensaries, which then sell them to patients.

Check back with MarijuanaDoctors.com for the latest updates in Oklahoma medical cannabis qualification requirements.

 

Source: Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority

Doctors Near You

Please allow us to access to your location to find local doctors

Dispensaries Near You

Please allow us to access to your location to find local dispensaries
plus sign

Are You A Doctor?

get listed here

Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Sign up for MarijuanaDoctors.com Free Monthly Newsletter! You Receive:

  • Exclusive Stories, News, Medical Reports & Articles, Fraud Alerts
  • Discounts, Coupons & Free Giveaways
  • Trusted Information