Updated on January 3, 2019. Medical content reviewed by Dr. Richard Koffler, MD, Board Certified Physiatrist
Nevada is well-known for having more relaxed laws when it comes to marijuana use. In fact, as of January 2017, Nevada joined the ranks of states that have approved marijuana for medical purposes and legalized it for recreational use.
This means that adults 21 years or older are allowed to purchase, possess, cultivate and consume up to one ounce of marijuana. They can also grow a maximum of 12 plants in their homes and possess up to 3.5 grams of cannabis concentrates.
It is a crime to possess marijuana in Nevada, with the exception of amounts less than an ounce as described above. Possession of over one ounce to 100 pounds as a first-time offense is a felony punishable by a maximum fine of $20,000 and between one and six years in prison, or both.
A second offense attracts a maximum fine of $20,000 and two to 10 years in prison. A third or subsequent offense attracts a maximum fine of $20,000 and three to 15 years in prison.
Possession of 100 to 2,000 pounds carries a maximum fine of $25,000 and a maximum of five years’ prison time. Holding 2,000 to 10,000 pounds carries a maximum fine of $50,000 and two to 20 years in prison time. Someone possessing more than 10,000 pounds is subject to a maximum fine of $200,000 and five years to life in jail.
Selling marijuana in Nevada carries some of the harshest punishments. Selling any amount less than 100 pounds as a first offense is subject to a prison sentence of one to six years and a maximum fine of $2,000. A second crime attracts two to 10 years in prison and a fine of $2,000. For a third and any other subsequent offense, the accused faces between three and 15 years in prison and a fine of $15,000.
Selling cannabis to a minor is subject to a maximum fine of $10,000 and one to five years in prison. Any sale within 1,000 feet of a school zone doubles all the above sentences and fines.
Cultivating more than 12 plants is punishable by a fine of up to $5,000 and one to four years in prison. Growing 100 to 2,000 pounds carries a fine of up to $25,000 and a maximum of five years in jail.
One who cultivates 2,000 to 10,000 pounds is subject to a fine of up to $50,000 and two to 20 years of prison time. Growing more than 10,000 pounds carries a fine of up to $200,000 and five years to life in prison.
Cultivation within 25 miles of a medical marijuana dispensary is an offense punishable by a maximum fine of $600. Growing plants that can be seen from a public place is an offense punishable by a maximum fine of $1,000. However, cultivating marijuana on a property without the consent of the property owner is a gross offense punishable by a maximum fine of $1,000.
Nevada allows the use of medical marijuana for treating patients diagnosed with debilitating and chronic conditions such as AIDS, cancer and glaucoma. Patients must, however, obtain a recommendation from a qualified physician to become eligible for a medical marijuana card, which allows them to access and use cannabis prescriptions.
At MarijuanaDoctors.com, we have put in place an efficient search system to help patients find qualified physicians in Nevada. The physicians in our network are ready and willing to help you obtain medical marijuana if you have a pre-approved condition that requires the use of cannabis.
Search for a doctor by city or zip code. Just enter the zip code or city into the search box, and you’ll see a list of doctors operating in your area. You’ll notice that we’ve provided details about our doctors, so you can find one who meets your specific needs. After identifying an ideal doctor, you can book an appointment with them right away.