NM Marijuana Card

Updated on May 26, 2020.  Medical content reviewed by Dr. Joseph Rosado, MD, M.B.A, Chief Medical Officer

In order to be afforded legal protection under the New Mexico medical marijuana law, a qualified patient or a primary caregiver must obtain a registry identification card, also referred to as a medical marijuana card or cannabis card, from the New Mexico Department of Health (DOH). qualified medical marijuana patients must register with the state patient registry and possess a valid state-issued identification card, applications must be submitted to the New Jersey Department of Health and Senior Services “Medicinal Marijuana Program”.

Benefits of Owning a New Mexico Marijuana Card

A New Mexico medical marijuana card gives you the opportunity to enjoy the full benefits of medical cannabis in the Land of Enchantment. Card-carrying patients can get the medicine they need to treat any qualifying condition or choose to grow their own cannabis at home.

At MarijuanaDoctors.com, we provide the best guide to obtaining your medical marijuana ID card from the registry. Here are some of the key benefits you will gain when you get your card.

  • Possession of adequate cannabis supply — The Medical Cannabis Program (MCP) administered by the state Department of Health allows you to use medical cannabis to treat numerous conditions. These include inflammatory arthritis, epilepsy, spinal cord damage, multiple sclerosis, cancer, chronic pain and intractable nausea, among others.

The New Mexico MCP also allows patients to possess up to 230 units of cannabis every 90 days. This empowers patients to walk into any registered dispensary and buy a maximum of approximately eight ounces of medicine to spread across three months.

  • Right to buy from LNPPs — After you’re registered as medical marijuana patient, you can buy your supply from any Licensed Non-Profit Producer anywhere in New Mexico. These producers often sell medicine to patients at very low rates because they enjoy special concessions under the Lynn and Erin Compassionate Cannabis Use Act. Many of these producers also offer the most effective strains of cannabis.
  • Right to obtain a Personal Production License (PPL) — The MCP permits you to grow your own marijuana plants once you’re registered. With your PPL, you’re permitted to possess a total of four mature female plants. You’re also allowed to have a total of 12 seedlings, including male and female plants.

This frees you up to choose the best strains and seeds from your favorite LNPP and start growing your own cannabis. Going this route will save you a lot of money by reducing the amount you spend on commercially produced cannabis every month.

  • Protection from civil and criminal penalties — Your medical cannabis card will allow you to carry marijuana without fear of harassment by law enforcement agents. As long as you are not in possession of an amount that exceeds the permitted quantity and you do not smoke in areas that are prohibited by the state law, you can carry your cannabis in your car, bag or purse. In fact, your registration allows you to use the 24-hour law enforcement hotline and you will be given time to go and get your card if you are challenged by the police.

How to Get a Qualified Doctor for Diagnosis and Certification

In New Mexico, you must be properly diagnosed by a qualified doctor before you’re allowed to use medical marijuana. For some ailments like chronic pain, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), glaucoma and inflammatory autoimmune-mediated arthritis, you must get a second certification from a qualified specialist.

At MarijuanaDoctors.com, we give you instant access to a network of tested and proven marijuana doctors in New Mexico. Go to our New Mexico medical marijuana doctors page and use our innovative search system to quickly locate the cannabis physicians practicing near you.

Doctors Near You

Please allow us to access to your location to find local doctors

Dispensaries Near You

Please allow us to access to your location to find local dispensaries
plus sign

Are You A Doctor?

get listed here

Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Sign up for MarijuanaDoctors.com Free Monthly Newsletter! You Receive:

  • Exclusive Stories, News, Medical Reports & Articles, Fraud Alerts
  • Discounts, Coupons & Free Giveaways
  • Trusted Information
sidebar image

Our Professional Guidance Makes It Easy to Obtain Your Card

We not only provide access to qualified doctors, but we also give you all the information and guidance you need to enjoy a hassle-free registration process. We show you how to quickly put your medical records in order and gather all the information you’ll need when you visit your marijuana doctor. Our service is customer-focused and we’ve used it to help thousands of people get registered for medical marijuana.

Take full advantage of our unique network of qualified doctors, our detailed guides and our efficient search system, so you can obtain your New Mexico medical marijuana card in the shortest time possible.

How to Get a Medical Marijuana Card in New Mexico

    1. Patients are required to obtain legitimate medical records or documentation from their primary care physician describing the diagnosis of their qualifying condition – *Learn how to request your medical records
    2. Patients are required to obtain a signed Physician’s Statement from a physician, currently licensed to practice medicine in New Mexico – *Find a certified medical marijuana physician in New Mexico
    3. Patients must be a resident of the state of New Mexico with proof of residency. If you do not have a New Mexico I.D. an out of state I.D., passport, or other photo I.D. with proof of residency such as bank statement, utility bill, etc is acceptable.
    4. To qualify, a patient needs to be diagnosed by a physician as having one of the following debilitating medical conditions that is specifically identified in the law:
    5. Once certified, patients are required to register with the New Mexico Department of Health – registration is mandatory. Upon registration, the patient will receive a New Mexico medical marijuana card.
    6. Patients choosing to cultivate their own medical marijuana must first apply for a license – complete and submit a Medical Cannabis Personal Production Application, along with with a copy of your New Mexico driver’s license or state identification card, and the license application fee of $30.00. To assign a caregiver, complete and submit Caregiver Application Form, as well.
    7. It is free to apply for the patient registry.
    8. Submit applications to:
      New Mexico Department of Health
      Medical Cannabis Program
      1190 Saint Francis Drive Suite S-3400
      Santa Fe, NM 87505
      Phone: 505-827-2321
      EmailNew Mexico Medical Cannabis Program
      WebsiteNew Mexico Medical Cannabis Program

New Mexico Medical Marijuana Application Forms and Instructions

quote icon

Finally, a helpful & informative website! MarijuanaDoctors.com answered all of my medical marijuana questions and helped me schedule an appointment with an accredited doctor in my area.~Susan - Denver, CO