Updated on May 5, 2020. Medical content reviewed by Dr. Joseph Rosado, MD, M.B.A, Chief Medical Officer
Medical marijuana has been legal in New Jersey since 2010. That means a registered resident of the Garden State can obtain and use a monthly dose of two ounces to treat any qualifying medical condition. However, using or cultivating marijuana for recreational purposes is not permitted, so you must be aware of the penalties associated with these activities.
Recently, many states have experienced a trend toward leniency for the simple possession of marijuana without the intent to distribute, and New Jersey is no exception.
A person found with 50g or less of marijuana is referred to as a “disorderly person” and is subject to a jail sentence that does not exceed six months and a fine of $1,000.
If the quantity of marijuana is greater than 50g, it is considered a 4th-degree offense. Such an offense attracts a maximum 18-month prison sentence and a $25,000 fine. Holding marijuana within 1,000 feet of a school building or a school vehicle is subject to 100 hours of community service and an added fine.
Selling less than an ounce of marijuana is a crime punishable by an 18-month prison sentence and a fine no greater than $25,000. When the quantity sold is more than an ounce but less than five pounds, the offense is punishable by three to five years in jail with a fine of $25,000.
For sales ranging between five and 25 pounds, the offense is subject to a five to 10-year jail sentence and a maximum fine of $150,000. Selling a quantity of marijuana that is greater than 25 pounds is a first-degree crime punishable by a jail term of 10 to 20 years and a total fine of $300,000.
Growing more than an ounce but less than five pounds or fewer than ten plants is a third-degree crime punishable by a prison term of three to five years and a maximum $25,000 fine.
Growing more than five but less than 25 pounds, or between 10 and 50 plants is a 2nd-degree crime punishable by a jail term of five to 10 years and a maximum fine of $150,000. Cultivating over 25 pounds or more than 50 plants is a first-degree crime that attracts a prison term of 10 to 20 years and a fine no greater than $300,000.
The medical marijuana program in New Jersey permits patients to use two ounces of marijuana per month, which can be obtained from a state-licensed dispensary. But to get registered, you need to be certified by a state-licensed doctor who has a legitimate doctor-patient relationship with you.
To help you connect with a doctor who can offer excellent treatment and follow-up care, we’ve created a reliable network of cannabis physicians for New Jersey residents. This network is accessible through our efficient search system.
Through MarijuanaDoctors.com, patients can find nearby doctors ready to help. For each physician, we’ve outlined their hours of operation, terms of service and fees. You can also read reviews from other patients. Take full advantage of our fast search system and get connected to a marijuana doctor in New Jersey today.