Powered By Veriheal

Maryland Marijuana Penalties

Updated on May 6, 2020.  Medical content reviewed by Dr. Joseph Rosado, MD, M.B.A, Chief Medical Officer

Maryland is one of the states where possession of marijuana in small quantities is treated as a civil offense rather a criminal one. So, a relatively small fine is assessed when a first-time offender is found with less than 10 grams of marijuana with no intention to distribute. In late January 2019, Baltimore City State’s Attorney Marilyn Mosby announced that her office would no longer prosecute marijuana possession, regardless of the amount or criminal history.

Here are the legal penalties for possession, distribution, cultivation and trafficking marijuana in Maryland.

Possession of Marijuana for Personal Use

A person found with less than 10 grams of marijuana has committed a civil offense. This is punishable by a fine of $100 for the first offense, $250 for the second offense and $500 for the third offense. Possession of more than 10 grams but less than 50 pounds is subject to by 12 months of imprisonment and a maximum fine of $1,000.

Possessing more than 50 pounds of cannabis is punishable by five years in jail and a fine that does not exceed $100,000. Anyone found using marijuana in a public place will be required to pay a civil fine not exceeding $500.

Possession of Marijuana With the Intent to Distribute

Holding marijuana with the intention to distribute an amount less than 50 pounds is subject to five years in prison and a maximum fine of $1,000. If a person is found with 50 pounds or greater, the offense is punishable by a jail term of five years and a maximum fine of $100,000.

A person found intending to distribute marijuana on a school bus or within 1,000 feet from an elementary or secondary school faces a maximum jail sentence of 20 years and a fine of $20,000 for a first-time offense. For a subsequent conviction, the person will receive anywhere from five to 40 years in jail and a maximum fine of $40,000.


If someone grows more than the number of plants allowed by law for medical use, the law treats it as a possession for personal use or possession with the intention to distribute. The conviction, however, depends on the quantity the offender grows. The penalties spelled out above for these offenses also apply to cultivation.


If a person carries 45kg or more of marijuana into Maryland, he or she will be convicted of a felony, which is punishable by a maximum jail term of 25 years and a fine of $50,000. Bringing in between 5kg and 45kg of marijuana is subject to 10 years in jail and a fine that does not exceed $10,000.

Get Connected to Licensed Marijuana Doctors in Maryland

Maryland has enacted a medical marijuana law that will soon be fully operational. So, anyone who needs access to a regular supply of medical marijuana must be registered to avoid the penalties highlighted above. That’s why we’ve designed an effective search system to help you connect with strictly-vetted doctors who are licensed to help you handle all aspects of your registration process that require the aid of a doctor.

Type your zip code into the search box, and you’ll see a list of doctors practicing in or near your community. Select any of the doctors in your list, and you’ll see more details about their terms of service, fees and normal hours of operation.

Also, you can read patient reviews to get a feel for each doctor’s past performance. After going through the reviews, use the “request an appointment” feature to book an appointment with your chosen doctor online.

Doctors Near You

Please allow us to access to your location to find local doctors

Dispensaries Near You

Please allow us to access to your location to find local dispensaries
plus sign

Are You A Doctor?

get listed here

Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Sign up for Free Monthly Newsletter! You Receive:

  • Exclusive Stories, News, Medical Reports & Articles, Fraud Alerts
  • Discounts, Coupons & Free Giveaways
  • Trusted Information