Updated on May 3, 2020. Medical content reviewed by Dr. Joseph Rosado, MD, M.B.A, Chief Medical Officer
In Massachusetts, marijuana is specified as a class D controlled substance. Adults who are not registered to participate in the state’s medical marijuana program can grow a maximum of six plants, hold an ounce of marijuana, five grams of the concentrate and 10 ounces of the flower without being penalized.
Public display or use of marijuana, however, is a civil offense. The following penalties also apply to the possession and distribution of marijuana.
Possession of more than an ounce of marijuana attracts a fine of $500 and a jail sentence of six months. But first-time offenders will be put on probation. After probation, all official records related to the case will be sealed.
Subsequent offenses are punishable by two years of imprisonment and a fine of $2,000. A person who has been convicted of felonies relating to possession of controlled substances will be subject to a jail term of two years and a fine of $2,000.
First-time offenders found with less than fifty pounds of marijuana with the intent to dispense, distribute, cultivate or manufacture are subject to a jail term of two years and a fine of $500 to $5,000. Subsequent offenses will attract a fine of $1,000 to $10,000 and a jail term of one to 2.5 years.
If the quantity of marijuana found with a person is between 50 and 100 pounds, the offender is subject to a jail term of 2.5 to 15 years and a fine ranging from $500 to $10,000. A minimum prison sentence of 12 months is mandatory for this offense.
For 100 to 2,000 pounds, the associated penalty is a jail term of two to 15 years with a fine of $2,500 to $25,000. A minimum prison sentence of two years is mandatory for this offense.
If a person is found 2,000 and 10,000 pounds of marijuana, they are subject to a fine ranging between $5,000 and $50,000 and a jail term of 3.5 to 15 years. A minimum prison sentence of 3.5 years is mandatory.
If the quantity of marijuana is greater than 10,000 pounds, a jail sentence of eight to 15 years and a fine of $20,000 to $200,000 may be assessed. A minimum prison sentence of eight years is mandatory for this offense.
No more than 12 marijuana plants may be grown at any residence. If the number of plants grown exceeds this number, the offender will be treated according to the law regulating possession for personal use or distribution.
Selling fewer than 50 pounds of cannabis attracts a punishment of two years of imprisonment and a fine of $500 to $5,000. Subsequent offenses will attract a fine of $1,000 to $10,000 and a jail term of one to 2.5 years.
Selling 50 to 100 pounds of marijuana is punishable by a $500 to $10,000 fine and a jail term of one to 15 years. A minimum jail term of 12 months is mandatory for this offense.
Selling between 100 and 2,000 pounds of marijuana is punishable by two to 15 years in prison and a fine of $2,500 to $25,000. A minimum jail term of two years is mandatory for this offense.
Participating in the Massachusetts medical marijuana program will enable you to use your marijuana legally without being penalized. You will need to be certified by a doctor who is licensed to practice medicine in the state, though. That’s why we’ve created a reliable search system that will help you to locate competent doctors near you.
Use our search system to locate your preferred marijuana doctor by typing your zip code in the search box. A list of doctors will be displayed. Click on any of them to look at their profiles.
We provide enough details about each doctor to help you make an informed decision before you book an appointment. Once you’ve selected a physician, use our efficient online booking system to request an appointment today.