GA Marijuana Laws

Updated on February 4, 2019.  Medical content reviewed by Dr. Joseph Rosado, MD, M.B.A, Chief Medical Officer

Georgia Medical Marijuana Laws

Possession for Personal Use:

The possession of up to one ounce or less of marijuana is a misdemeanor that has been deemed punishable by up to twelve months of imprisonment and/or paying a fine up to $1,000. The possession of over one ounce of marijuana is a felony that is punishable by a minimum imprisonment of up to one year and a maximum of up to ten years.

Possession with Intent to Distribute:

Possession with intent to distribute 10 pounds or less of marijuana is a felony punishable by a minimum of 1 and maximum of 10 years imprisonment. Possession of over 10 pounds but less than 2,000 pounds is punishable by a minimum of 5 years and maximum of 30 years imprisonment and a fine of $100,000. Possession of 2,000 pounds or more but less than 10,000 pounds is punishable by a minimum of 7 years and maximum of 30 years imprisonment and a fine of $250,000. Possession of 10,000 pounds or more is punishable by a minimum of 15 years and maximum of 30 years imprisonment and a fine of $1,000,000.

Possession with intent to distribute within 1,000 feet of school grounds, a park, or a housing project, or in a drug-free zone is a felony punishable by up to 20 years imprisonment and/or a fine up to $20,000 for a first offense. A second or subsequent offense is punishable by a minimum of 5 years and maximum of 40 years imprisonment and/or a fine up to $40,000. It is an affirmative defense that the conduct took place entirely within a private residence, no one 17 years old or younger was present, and the conduct was not committed for financial gain.

Georgia Sales Laws

Sale or delivery of 10 pounds or less of marijuana is a felony punishable by a minimum of 1 and maximum of 10 years imprisonment. Sale or delivery of over 10 pounds but less than 2,000 pounds is punishable by a minimum of 5 years and maximum of 30 years imprisonment and a fine of $100,000. Sale or delivery of 2,000 pounds or more but less than 10,000 pounds is punishable by a minimum of 7 years and maximum of 30 years imprisonment and a fine of $250,000. Sale or delivery of 10,000 pounds or more is punishable by a minimum of 15 years and maximum of 30 years imprisonment and a fine of $1,000,000.

Sale or delivery within 1,000 feet of school grounds, a park, or a housing project, or in a drug-free zone is a felony punishable by up to 20 years imprisonment and/or a fine up to $20,000 for a first offense. A second or subsequent offense is punishable by a minimum of 5 years and maximum of 40 years imprisonment and/or a fine up to $40,000. It is an affirmative defense that the conduct took place entirely within a private residence, no one 17 years old or younger was present, and the conduct was not committed for financial gain.

Georgia Cultivation Laws

sidebar imageCultivation of 10 pounds or less of marijuana is a felony punishable by a minimum of 1 and maximum of 10 years imprisonment. Cultivation of over 10 pounds but less than 2,000 pounds is punishable by a minimum of 5 years and maximum of 30 years imprisonment and a fine of $100,000. Cultivation of 2,000 pounds or more but less than 10,000 pounds is punishable by a minimum of 7 years and maximum of 30 years imprisonment and a fine of $250,000. Cultivation of 10,000 pounds or more is punishable by a minimum of 15 years and maximum of 30 years imprisonment and a fine of $1,000,000.

Doctors Near You

Please allow us to access to your location to find local doctors

    Dispensaries Near You

    Please allow us to access to your location to find local dispensaries
      plus sign

      Are You A Doctor?

      get listed here

      Sign Up For Our Newsletter

      Sign up for MarijuanaDoctors.com Free Monthly Newsletter! You Receive:

      • Exclusive Stories, News, Medical Reports & Articles, Fraud Alerts
      • Discounts, Coupons & Free Giveaways
      • Trusted Information

      Offense

      Penalty

      Incarceration

       Max. Fine 

      Possession

      Personal Use
      1 oz. or less

      Misdemeanor

      1 year

      $1,000

      More than 1 oz.

      Felony

      1-10 years

      N/A

      With Intent To Distribute
      10 lbs. or less

      Felony

      1-10 years

      N/A

      10 lbs. – 2000 lbs.

      Felony

      5 – 30 years

      $100,000

      2000 lbs. – 10,000 lbs.

      Felony

      7 – 30 years

      $250,000

      More than 10,000 lbs.

      Felony

      15 – 30 years

      $1,000,000

      Within 1,000 feet of school grounds, a park, or a housing project, or in a drug free zone.

      Felony

      20-40 years

      $40,000

      Sale or Delivery

      10 lbs. or less

      Felony

      1-10 years

      N/A

      10 lbs. – 2000 lbs.

      Felony

      5 – 30 years

      $100,000

      2000 lbs. – 10,000 lbs.

      Felony

      7 – 30 years

      $250,000

      More than 10,000 lbs.

      Felony

      15 – 30 years

      $1,000,000

      Within 1,000 feet of school grounds, a park, or a housing project, or in a drug free zone.

      Felony

      20-40 years

      $40,000

      Cultivation

      10 lbs. or less

      Felony

      1-10 years

      N/A

      10 lbs. – 2000 lbs.

      Felony

      5 – 30 years

      $100,000

      2000 lbs. – 10,000 lbs.

      Felony

      7 – 30 years

      $250,000

      More than 10,000 lbs.

      Felony

      15 – 30 years

      $1,000,000

      Within 1,000 feet of school grounds, a park, or a housing project, or in a drug free zone.

      Felony

      20-40 years

      $40,000

      Hash & Concentrates

      Possession

      Felony

      1-15 years

      N/A

      Manufacturing, distributing, selling, or possessing with the intent to distribute.

      Felony

      5 – 30 years

      N/A

      Subsequent offenses carry stricter penalties.

      Paraphernalia

      Possession or sale of paraphernalia

      Misdemeanor

      1 year

      $1,000

      Second and third offenses carry additional penalties and fines.

      Miscellaneous

      Abandoning marijuana in a public place.

      Misdemeanor

      1 year

      $1,000

      Involving a minor.

      Felony

      5 – 20 years

      $20,000

      Distribution of marijuana flavored product.

      Misdemeanor

      N/A

      $500

      Use of any communications facility

      Felony

      1-4 years

      $30,000

      Any conviction of a marijuana possession, sale, or cultivation offense results in suspension of driving license.
      quote icon

      Finally, a helpful & informative website! MarijuanaDoctors.com answered all of my medical marijuana questions and helped me schedule an appointment with an accredited doctor in my area.~Susan - Denver, CO

      ×