Updated on January 23, 2020. Medical content reviewed by Dr. Joseph Rosado, MD, M.B.A, Chief Medical Officer
Department of Consumer Protection (DCP)
Medical Marijuana Program
165 Capitol Ave
Hartford CT 06106-1630
Phone: (860) 713-6066
Toll-Free: (800) 842-2649
Website: Connecticut Medical Marijuana Program
Note from State, on sources for medical marijuana
A complete list of the state’s medical marijuana dispensary facilities is posted on Connecticut’s Medical Marijuana Program’s website.
The Connecticut Patient Registry application fee, is $100. The Connecticut Marijuana Registry is mandatory, and does NOT accept other state’s registry cards.
To Qualify for Connecticut’s Medical Marijuana Program:
Registration Certificate expires one (1) year from the physician’s certification date.
In November 2018, The Regulations Review Committee of the General Assembly also approved Chronic Neuropathic Pain Associated With Degenerative Spinal Disorders as a qualifying condition for Medical Marijuana Treatment.
In August 2018, the Regulation Review Committee approved eight new conditions to qualify for medical marijuana:
Patients under the age of 18 can qualify for muscular dystrophy and osteogenesis imperfecta.
On May 31, 2012, Governor Dannel P. Malloy, signed into law, House Bill 5389, which was approved by the House 96-51, and by the Senate 21-3. This, in effect, legalized medical marijuana in Connecticut.
House Bill 5389, effective May 2012, states that,
“A qualifying patient shall register with the Department of Consumer Protection, prior to engaging in the palliative use of marijuana. A qualifying patient who has a valid registration certificate, shall not be subject to arrest or prosecution, penalized in any manner, or denied any right or privilege.”
“Prison inmates, or others under the supervision of the Department of Corrections, would not qualify, regardless of their medical condition.”
On September 23, 2012, the Connecticut Medical Marijuana Program website posted an update, with instructions on how to register for the program, beginning October 01, 2012. “Patients who are currently receiving medical treatment for a debilitating medical conditions set out in the law may qualify for a temporary registration certificate beginning October 1, 2012. To qualify, a patient must also be at least 18 years of age and a Connecticut resident.”
On January 16, 2013, the Draft Regulations on Medical Marijuana, were posted online.
On April 03, 2014, the Connecticut Department of Consumer Protection announced the names and locations of the first six dispensary facilities, that have been authorized by the state to operate. The first medical marijuana dispensary opened on August 20, 2014.
Added conditions: Interstitial Cystitis; MALS Syndrome (Median Arcuate Ligament Syndrome); Vulvodynia and Vulvar Burning; Intractable Neuropathic Pain that Is Unresponsive to Standard Medical Treatments; Tourette’s Syndrome
Added conditions under 18 years: Intractable Neuropathic Pain that Is Unresponsive to Standard Medical Treatments; Tourette Syndrome for patients who have failed standard medical treatment
In the state of Connecticut, the maximum monthly amount allowable, is 2.5 ounces, unless indicated otherwise by the patient’s physician. Under Connecticut law, cultivation is NOT permitted.