Updated on April 30, 2020. Medical content reviewed by Dr. Joseph Rosado, MD, M.B.A, Chief Medical Officer
Arizona law prohibits the recreational use of marijuana, but the state does have a medical marijuana program.
Possession, cultivation and sale of marijuana or paraphernalia in Arizona are felonies.
Penalties range from four months to two years in prison and a $150,000 fine for possession of less than two pounds, to prison terms of as long as 12.5 years for trafficking involving two pounds or more. Higher sentences are possible if minors are involved or if the offense is committed in a school zone.
Arizona voters in 2010 approved a ballot proposal removing state-level penalties on the use, possession and cultivation of marijuana by any patient with a recommendation from a primary care physician stating that he or she would benefit from medical marijuana.
The Arizona Department of Health Services is responsible for implementing the program. Qualifying patients, caregivers and dispensaries may apply for two-year licenses on the department’s website. The state issues electronic marijuana cards.
Qualifying conditions for an Arizona marijuana card include Alzheimer’s disease, cancer and chronic pain.
State-licensed dispensaries may produce and dispense marijuana on a not-for-profit basis. Home cultivation is allowed if the patient lives more than 25 miles from a dispensary.