Refine Results

Illinois Medical Cannabis Program Details for Patients

IL Marijuana Legislation: Approved: Apr. 17, 2013 by the House, 61-57 and on May 17, 2013 by Senate with a vote of 35-21. Signed into law by Gov. Pat Quinn on Aug. 1, 2013 and made effective as of January 1, 2014

The Illinois Compassionate Use of Medical Cannabis Pilot Program Act establishes a patient registry program, protects registered qualifying patients and registered designated caregivers from "arrest, prosecution, or denial of any right or privilege," this law also allows for the registration of marijuana cultivation centers and dispensing organizations for cannabis. Once the act goes into effect, "a tax is imposed upon the privilege of cultivating medical cannabis at a rate of 7% of the sales price per ounce."

IL Possession/Cultivation: "Adequate supply" is defined as "2.5 ounces of usable cannabis during a period of 14 days and that is derived solely from an intrastate source." The law does not allow patients or caregivers to cultivate cannabis.

Patient Registry Fee: To be determined during the rulemaking process ($100 proposed)

IL Department of Public Health: Division of Medical Cannabis, Illinois Department of Public Health, 535 W. Jefferson Street, Springfield, IL 62761-0001