Missouri Medical Marijuana Facts
The hard medical marijuana facts for Missouri residents are that people suffering from severe conditions are unable to legally obtain medical cannabis to find relief from their symptoms. They either have to risk being arrested for purchasing weed, or they need to turn to powerful, addictive and sometimes dangerous medications. While advocates are pushing a common sense approach to marijuana, state leaders continue to deny patients the access they need to this beneficial plant.
Marijuana Facts for Missouri
- In February, 2017, the Missouri Association of Veterans Organizations announced that it would work to support a House bill that would allow people suffering from illnesses such as severe epilepsy, clinical depression, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and others to obtain medical marijuana.
- One of the Missouri marijuana facts that many lawmakers don’t take into consideration is that many veterans and others often have to self-medicate when their other medicines fail to address their symptoms. When this involves the use of alcohol or powerful narcotics, they run the risk of a potentially fatal overdose.
- In 2016, the Missouri Secretary of State ruled that a petition to put a medical marijuana ballot initiative on the ballot fell approximately 2,200 votes short in a single congressional district, thus invalidating it. Sponsors of the initiative argued in court that it should not have been invalidated simply because certain signers made mistakes. While the court agreed, it still ruled that the petition was 23 signatures short.
- A bill was filed during the 2016 legislative session to legalize marijuana and regulate it much in the same way that alcohol is regulated. The bill didn’t pass, but it did spur conversation that could eventually result in action.
- Missouri legislators may not be able to bring relief to patients needing medical marijuana, but they did vote to decriminalize weed in 2014. First-time offenders caught with 10 grams or less of pot will be charged with a Class D misdemeanor. This carries a fine of anywhere from $250-$1,000, but no jail time.
- However, the punishments for larger amounts of possession remain extremely harsh. If someone is caught with more than 35 grams (approximately 1.25 ounces), he or she will face a felony charge that carries as much as seven years in prison as well as a fine of up to $5,000.
- In 2015, a man convicted for the third time of a non-violent, marijuana-related offense was released from prison. He had served 21 years of a life sentence.
- Nearly 19,000 people were arrested for offenses related to pot in 2012. Approximately 92 percent of those were for possession. During that same year, nearly 90 percent of vehicle thefts and nearly 90 percent of burglaries were unsolved.
At MarijuanaDoctors.com, we fervently hope that state leaders will one day realize the cannabis plant offers a great many medical benefits, and as a result, they will ultimately allow patients to legally access those benefits. We will keep close tabs on medical marijuana facts for Missouri as well as the rest of the country, and we will update you as developments warrant. Keep checking back with us for the latest information on this extremely vital issue.