Pending States

Missouri Medical Marijuana Facts

  • The state of Missouri has some of the harshest marijuana laws in the country. Possession of any amount of marijuana, even as little as a gram, can be punished by up to a year in prison and a $1,000 fine. Possession of over 35 grams, or about 1.25 ounces, is regarded as a felony and is subject to up to a seven-year prison sentence and a $5,000 fine.
  • In the state of Missouri in 2007, there were 23,136 reported arrests for marijuana-related offenses. This statistic ranks Missouri at number 10 in the nation in regards to marijuana-related offenses per capita. There is an estimated 481,000 marijuana users in the state of Missouri in the calendar year of 2007.
  • The number of annual marijuana users in the state of Missouri decreased from 557,000 in 2003, to about 481,000 in 2007. This presented an average annualized change of nearly 3% per year. The number of monthly marijuana users decreased from 316,000 in 2003, to 267,000 in 2007, which produced an average annualized change of around 3.5%.
  • In terms of the overall severity for a maximum sentence involving marijuana possession, the state of Missouri ranks number six in the nation. This is based upon penalties for a first offense and not a subsequent offense. In terms of penalties for less than one ounce of marijuana, the state of Missouri ranked at around number three.