»

MI Marijuana Laws

Updated on April 30, 2020.  Medical content reviewed by Dr. Joseph Rosado, MD, M.B.A, Chief Medical Officer

It is legal in Michigan to possess up to 2.5 ounces of marijuana, or up to 10 ounces at home, and there is no penalty for giving away less than 2.5 ounces. It’s also legal to grow marijuana at home for personal use, as long as you don’t have more than 11 plants.

Marijuana is a Schedule 1 controlled substance in Michigan, and there are penalties for the possession, distribution or cultivation of larger amounts. Hashish is subject to the same laws.

The Michigan Marijuana Regulatory Agency, a division of the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs, monitors and regulates marijuana in the state.

The Michigan Medical Marihuana Program is a state registry within the agency. It handles patient and caregiver applications for medical marijuana cards. A medical marijuana card is required in order to purchase marijuana from a state-licensed dispensary.

Doctors Near You

Please allow us to access to your location to find local doctors

Dispensaries Near You

Please allow us to access to your location to find local dispensaries
plus sign

Are You A Doctor?

get listed here

Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Sign up for MarijuanaDoctors.com Free Monthly Newsletter! You Receive:

  • Exclusive Stories, News, Medical Reports & Articles, Fraud Alerts
  • Discounts, Coupons & Free Giveaways
  • Trusted Information

Offense

Penalty

Incarceration

Max. Fine

Possession

Any specified amount Misdemeanor

1 year

$2,000

In a park or playground Misdemeanor or Felony

2 years

$2,000

Use of marijuana Misdemeanor

90 days

$100

Sale
Sale without remuneration

Misdemeanor

1 year

$1,000

Less than 5 kg.

Felony

4 years

$20,000

5 kg. To 45 kg.

Felony

7 years

$500,000

45 kg. or more

Felony

15 years

$10,000,000

Cultivation

Less than 20 plants

Felony

4 years

$20,000

20 plants to 200 plants

Felony

7 years

$500,000
200 plants or more

Felony

15 years

$10,000,000
v

Hash & Concentrates

*Penalties for hashish are the same as for marijuana. Please see the marijuana penalties section for further details.

Paraphernalia

Sale of paraphernalia

Misdemeanor

90 days

$5,000

quote icon

Finally, a helpful & informative website! MarijuanaDoctors.com answered all of my medical marijuana questions and helped me schedule an appointment with an accredited doctor in my area.~Susan - Denver, CO

×