How to Get Medical Marijuana in Maine
Posted by Marijuana Doctors on 07/06/2010 in Medical Marijuana Laws
In 1999, Maine passed laws that allow qualified patients to use marijuana to alleviate their symptoms. In order to use medical marijuana in Maine, patients must obtain written documentation from a physician, and soon, patients must also obtain a marijuana card. Read on for a step-by-step guide on how to get medical marijuana in Maine.
Step One: Be Diagnosed with a Qualifying Medical Condition
In order to use medicinal cannabis under Maine medical marijuana law, you must first be diagnosed with cancer, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, hepatitis C, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (Lou Gehrig’s Disease), Alzheimer’s disease, nail-patella syndrome, intractable pain that has not responded to ordinary medical or surgical measures for more than 6 months, cachexia or wasting syndrome, severe nausea, seizures, epilepsy, severe and persistent muscle spasms, multiple sclerosis or Crohn’s disease.
Step Two: Get a Marijuana Recommendation from a Qualified Physician
The next step in becoming a medical marijuana patient in Maine is to obtain a written recommendation (also known as marijuana prescription) from a physician that is licensed in the state of Maine stating that you have a qualifying condition, and that the physician has discussed the risks and benefits of medical marijuana with you, and that you have been “advised” by the physician that you “might benefit” from medical marijuana. Your doctor must also fill out a Physician Certification from the state of Maine.
If you are looking for quality Maine medical marijuana doctors, MarijuanaDoctors.com can help. We have the largest and highest quality database of medical marijuana doctors in all legal states. Book an appointment today and we’ll help you find Maine marijuana doctors in your area.
Step Three: Get a Marijuana Card
The final step in getting medical marijuana in Maine is obtaining a marijuana card (aka marijuana medical card or cannabis card) by registering with the Maine Medical Use of Marijuana Program (MMMP). Here’s how:
- Complete the MMMP Patient Application
- Fill out a Release of Medical Information form, which allows representatives from the MMMP to speak with your physician and/or primary caregiver
- Have your doctor fill out a MMMP Physician Certification
- Write check or money order in the amount of $100.00 (or $75.00 for those on MaineCare) made payable to: Treasurer, State of Maine
Mail all of the above to:
Maine Medical Use of Marijuana Program
Division of Licensing and Regulatory Services
Department of Health and Human Services
11 State House Station
41 Anthony Ave.
Augusta, ME 04333
Step 4: Grow Your Own Marijuana (or Purchase it from a Dispensary in 2011)
Now that you’ve obtained your marijuana recommendation and marijuana card, you can now legally grow and consume your medicine under ME marijuana law. The state of Maine is also in the process of establishing 8 state-run dispensaries, which are scheduled to open in 2011, where you or your caregiver can purchase high grade cannabis in smokable and edible form.