Search
Marijuana Doctors
A New Kind Of Healthcare

Search

How to Get Medical Marijuana in Michigan

How to Get Medical Marijuana in Michigan

Posted by Marijuana Doctors on 06/24/2010 in Medical Marijuana Laws

In 2008, Michigan joined the growing list of states that have passed medical marijuana laws. Proposal 1, aka the Michigan Medical Marihuana Act (MMMA) allows qualified patients to use marijuana for medical reasons. If you’d like to get medical marijuana in Michigan, simply follow these few steps:

Step One: Be Diagnosed with a Qualifying Medical Condition

In order to use cannabis under MI medical marijuana law, you must first be diagnosed with Cancer, Glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, hepatitis C, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis, Crohn’s disease, agitation of Alzheimer’s disease, nail patella, or a chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition or its treatment that produces one or more of the following:

Step Two: Get a Marijuana Recommendation from a Qualified Physician

The next step in becoming a medical marijuana patient in Michigan is to obtain a written recommendation (also known as marijuana prescription) from a physician that is licensed in the state of Michigan stating that you have been diagnosed with a debilitating medical condition and that you are “likely to receive therapeutic or palliative benefit from the medical use of marihuana.” If you are looking for quality Michigan medical marijuana doctors, MarijuanaDoctors.com can help. We have the largest and highest quality database of medical marijuana doctors in Michigan and all legal states. Book an appointment today and we’ll help you find Michigan marijuana doctors in your area.

Step Three: Get a Marijuana Card

The final step in getting medical marijuana in Michigan is obtaining a marijuana card (aka marijuana medical card or cannabis card). To get a card, patients and caregivers must register with the Michigan Department of Community Health by sending an application and a Physician Certification to the Michigan Department of Community Health (MDCH) along with the following documents:

  • Copy of Patient’s Photo Identification
  • Copy of Patient’s Photo Identification
  • Caregiver Attestation (if applicable; included in the application form)
  • Copy of Caregiver’s Photo Identification (if applicable)
  • A check or money order in the amount of $100.00 (or a reduced fee of $25.00 if currently enrolled in Medicaid or receiving SSI or SSD) made payable to State of Michigan—MMMP

Mail all of the above to:

Michigan Department of Community Health

Medical Marihuana Registry

P.O. Box 30083

Lansing, MI 48909

Step 4: Grow Your Own Marijuana or Purchase it from a Dispensary

Now that you’ve obtained your marijuana recommendation and marijuana card, you can now legally grow and consume your medicine under MI marijuana law. Additionally, these documents will also get you into countless dispensaries across the state where you or your caregiver can purchase high grade cannabis in smokable and edible form.

Doctors Near You

Please allow us to access to your location to find local doctors

Dispensaries Near You

Please allow us to access to your location to find local dispensaries

Are You A Doctor?

get listed here

Sign Up For Our Newsletter

Sign up for MarijuanaDoctors.com Free Monthly Newsletter! You Receive:

  • Exclusive Stories, News, Medical Reports & Articles, Fraud Alerts
  • Discounts, Coupons & Free Giveaways
  • Trusted Information