How to Get Medical Marijuana in Alaska
Posted by Marijuana Doctors on 06/29/2010 in Medical Marijuana Laws
Since the passing of Ballot Measure 8 1998, the state of Alaska has allowed qualified patients to use cannabis for medical reasons. If you are in need of medical marijuana and would like to get medical marijuana in Alaska, simply follow these few steps:
Step One: Be Diagnosed with a Qualifying Medical Condition
In order to medicate with cannabis under AK medical marijuana law, you must first be diagnosed with cancer, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, cachexia, severe pain, severe nausea, seizures, epilepsy, persistent muscle spasms, multiple sclerosis, or Alzheimer’s disease.
Step Two: Get a Marijuana Recommendation from a Qualified Physician
The next step in getting medical marijuana in Alaska is to obtain a written recommendation (also known as marijuana prescription) from a state-licensed physician. This signed physician statement must explain that the patient was examined in the context of a bona fide physician-patient relationship, the patient has been diagnosed with a debilitating medical condition, and other approved medications were “considered.”
If you need to find quality Alaska medical marijuana doctors, MarijuanaDoctors.com can help. We have the largest and highest quality database of medical marijuana doctors in Alaska and all legal states. Book an appointment today and we’ll help you find qualified Alaska marijuana doctors in your area that are guaranteed to comply with your state laws.
Step Three: Get a Marijuana Card
The final step in getting medical marijuana in Alaska is obtaining a medical marijuana card (aka marijuana medical card or cannabis card). To get a marijuana card, patients and caregivers must register with the state Department of Health and Social Services by:
- Completing and the Application for Registry Identification Card for Medical Use of Marijuana.
- Providing a legible photocopy of the Alaska State Driver’s License or Identification Card
- Paying a nonrefundable application fee via check or money order in the amount of $25.00 ($20.00 for a renewal) payable to the Bureau of Vital Statistics.
- Mailing all of the above to:
Alaska Bureau of Vital Statistics
P.O. Box 110699
Juneau, AK 99811-0699
Step 4: Grow Your Own Marijuana
Now that you’ve obtained your marijuana recommendation and marijuana card, you can now legally grow and consume your medicine under AK marijuana law. You may possess up to one ounce of marijuana in usable form and six marijuana plants, with no more than three mature and flowering plants producing usable marijuana at any one time. Remember that Alaska does not allow patients to purchase marijuana at dispensaries at this time.