Colorado Medical Marijuana Requirements
Posted by Marijuana Doctors on 11/09/2010 in Medical Marijuana Laws
Since the passing of Amendment 20 (the Colorado medical marijuana law) in the November 2000 general election, qualified patients in Colorado have been legally able to grow, possess, purchase and use medical cannabis under state law. According the Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment (CDPHE), nearly 80,000 patients have met Colorado medical marijuana requirements and successfully enrolled in the Colorado medical marijuana registry program as of March 2010.
For seriously ill Colorado residents looking to use marijuana as a medicine, it is easy to join the growing list of Colorado medical marijuana patients. To get medical cannabis in Denver, Boulder, Colorado Springs, or anywhere in the Centennial State, simply follow these Colorado medical marijuana requirements:
- You must be 18 years of age or, if under 18, be accompanied by a parent or guardian.
- You must be a Colorado Resident with proof of residency.
- You must suffer from one of the following qualifying medical conditions: Cancer, glaucoma, HIV/AIDS, or a chronic or debilitating disease or medical condition which produces one or more of the following: cachexia, severe pain, severe nausea, seizures (including those that are characteristic of epilepsy) or persistent muscle spasms (including those that are characteristic of multiple sclerosis).
- You must obtain a medical marijuana recommendation from a state licensed physician stating you will benefit from the medicinal use of cannabis. (Find a Colorado medical marijuana doctor here).
- Finally, you must obtain a Medical Marijuana Registry ID card (also referred to as a Colorado medical marijuana card) from the CDPHE. To apply, fill out this application and send it, along with a legible photo copy of your Colorado Identification and a check or money order for $90 to:
Medical Marijuana Registry
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment
4300 Cherry Creek Drive South
Denver, Colorado 80246-1530
Once your application is accepted, you will receive your Colorado medical marijuana card from the CDPHE within 30 days. Once you have received the Colorado medical marijuana card, you can legally use, grow, purchase and possess medical marijuana.